Sort:  

And serendipity is also very important to science.

Excellent comment! It is indeed a common occurrence throughout the history of science!

stem.jpg

Thank you very much for your support!

Congratulations @legman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

After reading the title, I had a totally different conception of what this post was going to be about. I had immediately convinced myself that this would be about the stupid things that are done in science presently. Such as the denial of facts when they don't fit the paradigm. ie the electric universe would be a good example, but I'm not going to use that because I'm waiting for a reply from someone who denies its existence. Fortunately, science has many examples to choose from. Please bear with me on my tangent and I'll get back to the subject at hand. For exhibit, A and I only give one exhibit for your concideration. I would turn your attention to redshift. Red shift is to light as the doppler shift is to sound. For I believe more than 15 years ago, Halton Arp demonstrated that redshift was a unsound principal. But astronomers still use it today to judge the distance of stars. To me, that is the definition of stupidity. I'm not the brightest bulb in the chandelier, but it occurs to me that if you're in school to learn then you should not feel stupid because you don't yet know what you are there to learn. Having said that, let me get back to the subject at hand. In order to do that, I must put on my conspiracy hat. ;) It seems to me that the feeling of stupidity would be / is a great breeding ground for conformity. The advice I would give is that it may not be that you are stupid. it could be that you are a unique thinker. And that you should strive to demonstrating that fact.

Thank you for your support! It means a lot.

Thank you very much for your opinion and your support!

Thank you very much for your opinion! Keep working hard!