You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Access to Scientific Literature in the XXI Century

in #science7 years ago

You may be interested to have a look to SciPost or to the Pevo project on the same topic. I am part of a field where we have the chance to use the arxiv as a standard, so that most (99.9%) papers are accessible for free. Publication is only necessary for getting the peer-reviewed stamp (and thus for promotions and finding a job, in some sense).

Sort:  

Yes, I'm very familiar with arXiv, and we also use it regularly to post all our manuscripts as soon as they are ready for submission. I guess it is more and more common for people working in Physics to do this.

As for the the SciPost and Pevo, I wasn't aware of them, but I will surely check them out. Also, the social site Research Gate is a very powerful platform for researcher to keep track of each other's work, and paper authors can even make their full texts available through the platform.

I am usually using InspireHEP that you should know too (this is where I found you ;) ). Very practical!

Yes, I use that as well. ;-)