You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you wanted to be a scientist? Let me tell you what's happening in academia today!

in #science7 years ago

Thanks for your comment.
Unfortunately, I have heard that confidence in the results of the paper from Japan (and much more from China) has gone down a lot.
But indeed here in Spain happens the same, quantity above quality.
These systems reward speed and volume of production over the true scientific value of their work.
I think the problem is that recruiters don't have the time to really look into the quality of the publications, so they go for easy metrics.

Sort:  
quantity above quality

That seems to be valid for every parts of 'modern' societies. I hate it. Research, work processes have to be fast and cheap instead of focusing on quality, thoroughness and real understanding.

Well, the Japanese research community is doing a good job to keep it contained within Japan - likely to avoid further embarrassment (the Obokata incident, anyone?). I frankly speaking cry when I read articles from humanities here (that's my field, I won't speak for sciences), and you can't but hang your head in despair looking at some graduate theses... I mean, really... Good job devaluating PhDs and Master's even further. As if the production line style of university graduation rates were not harming degree value enough.

Ah, time to go to bed... Can't get too excited here. Japan is a beautiful country if you can do like the three famous monkeys.

Yes, it is sad! It is not the fault of the people, but clearly the system has serious issues.
It pains me that everyone is keeping silent, and even simple questions are not welcome about regarding what this system is doing for us.
This lack of curiousity about our own science system itself is the most unscientific attitude you can imagine.
Talking about this issue, quickly gets you labelled as a subversive, here I thought it was up to scientists to investigate and experiment to find better solutions.

The power of consensus is indeed terrifying.

Yes! Exactly!