You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dying Oceans

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Garbage in the ocean kills sea turtles

That video of the straw embedded a good 4 inches or more into the nose of one of them was horrible and tragic.

For those who haven't seen warning, brace yourselves.

:

I've been returning & declining straws ever since...

Sort:  

I hope this kind of video can be shown on the Empire State Building Light show as well. We don't often see the ill-effects of what we are doing (like throwing trash in the sea). That's why many people don't really care.

That's great. I've been refusing to buy anything that doesn't come in recyclable packaging. Here in the states it is done enough that it makes much difference but I try and I've replied to companies online when they have a 'what can we do to serve you better' section. This kind of thing ought to be more recognized here for being the passive evil it is.