You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honey cures hay fever: Fact or fiction?

in #science6 years ago (edited)

From my research I have a formulated this theory.

Locally produced honey contains the pollen that you would be exposed to in that location and so your immune system has a chance to create antibodies by identifying the weakened pollen that has been through the gut of several bees.

In the process of partial digestion maybe the pollen spores are damaged and easier for the immune system to defend against.

Unfortunately this theory doesn't include tree or weed pollen?

It's a work in progress.

There is a precedent. Wherever I travel in the world. One of the first things I try to eat is the local yogurt.
It contains all the local bacteria and by doing this; you never get an upset digestive system.

There are so many charlatans, pseudo scientists and crooks on the web.
You can spend years trying to help and educate the public.
I know.
I have been doing it for years.

Sort:  

That is clever ... I am curious why wouldn't it work with tree and weed pollen?

I should qualify my statement.

"Unfortunately this theory doesn't include tree or weed pollen?"

(A)"It is to do with the pollination method used by some" trees

(B)"Agricultural intensification has led to the decrease of the diversity of wild and domestic pollinators"
Weeds

Thanks for your interesting question @prydefoltz I hope this data clarifies my theory.
The use of weedkillers has changed the amount of weed pollen captive bees can access.

That would make sense with some trees ... but it is worth a try for sure ... I am think honey, lemon and ginger tea ... will hit the spot:)

I never heard that about the local yoghurt. That’s a tremendously advantageous bit of advice!

It works a treat as your immune system gets a boost from the new culture.