You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you wanted to be a scientist? Let me tell you what's happening in academia today!

in #science7 years ago (edited)

More evidence to the farce of global warming research... We have more scientists than at any time in the past. They must publish or become irrelevant.

I'm a contrarian. When everyone believes something that is masked in controversy and when anyone opposes the consensus view is ostracized and labeled a denier, you must take a deep look to consider that something that smells fishy, probably is.

My sister recently finished her PhD in Nursing. 18 months before graduating, she was working on a project with a Federal government body. As part of joining the team, she provided her complete PhD research in order to provide the maximum contribution (prior to her publishing any of it).

6 months later I got an incredible phone call from her. The lead researcher (PhD) and her colleague, an Attorney, had just published a paper exactly covering her research. It included exactly her terminology and discussion of the research model she developed. Sadly, there was nothing she could do about it and had to accept that this was part of the life of research.

Where is the integrity in science? If you can't produce original work, then don't go into research. Where is the accountability?

Our educational system is always promoting higher and higher education. Why, because this helps them ever expand education and their revenue. As an example, the best physical therapist I've ever had only had a bachelor degree (from the 80s). When I was going through engineering school in the 90s, you could only earn a masters degree in PT. Today, you can only earn a doctorate degree in PT. I've asked these Doctor of physical therapists why it's required. The only answer I get is it allows for them to direct bill. So its really all about money and not about health care.

I could go on...

Sort:  

I'm so sorry for your sister, I felt it like a blow to the liver. I hope she does not get discouraged, you just have to be better than that. I think that you can work being honest and ethical, sometimes against the system.

She is brilliant and incredibly unique in her skillset. Even the bad experience can't stop someone like her from succeeding and adding value. Fortunately, in her field there is a lack of experts and even fewer with integrity. Her future looks very bright and I get be on the sideline watching it happen!