You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comparing (eco)toxicity of commercial and home-made laundry detergents... as expected, results are appalling...

in #science6 years ago

"We are not against the industry, but we want to know what the products we use everyday are made of. "
That is exactly the point!
Industrialization is related to demography, and needed for a dense society to develop.
But today, trust is gone...

Sort:  

I just read your post that I found really interesting. I will also read that of Delphine to learn more about his own homemade laundry recipe. For my part, I wanted to try this experiment for several reasons (including the one mentioned by @lemouth). Another one he didn't mention is the extremely fragile skin of our second son and my categorical refusal to put him to corticoids ...

As for my recipe, it is really very basic: water, Marseille soap, soda crystals and vinegar. I do not yet have the necessary perspective to judge the effectiveness of this recipe since I'm at my first experience in this area! ;)

Yes, it is a very wise choice to not use industrial detergents when washing the clothes of your second son. For example, by personal experience, polyphosphates and pyrophosphate can have quite aggressive on the skin, and some additives that can even be sensitizers (exposure can make a person become very allergic to it in the future, even when exposed to extremely minute dose of the additive) !

The two formulas are similar actually. But Delphine (@delph-in-holland) is the expert on the practical effects, I'll let her comment :-)

Please, let us know how happy you are with the results of your first formula !

I will surely write some post on the subject in the future ;) Your expertise had been very helpful to understand "why" it was better like this! Thanks to you!