You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plants vs. Pharmaceuticals

in #science6 years ago

I think this really a very recurring discussion and I think the best way to do things is to take the good out of both worlds.
Today, people take heavy medicine when they have a slight headache, will take antibacterial medicine when their nose runs and will take a painkiller when they hit their foot on the stairs.
While this is great to avoid every possible second of suffering, besides damaging our organs it will also, in the long term, reduce the effect of the named medicine when we really need it. That's basically why I try to fight a cold first with a tea or similar and then, only when it gets really bad, I go to the doctor.
Short I'd say "Alternative medicine is great when its nothing too serious or used complementary (If compatible of course)".