You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you wanted to be a scientist? Let me tell you what's happening in academia today!

in #science7 years ago

I think our institution we call science(n) today resembles more of a religion than it does a beacon of "truth".

I was on a very similar train of thought when I wrote Is Science Just Another Religion: 21st century dogma, faith in science, and the cult of objectivity. I was linked to your article as supporting evidence for my claims!

Thank you for writing this. I think science (v) could benefit greatly from decoupling itself from science (n) and ridding itself from the hubris of objectivity... But, I don't think that is actually what you were alluding to.

The problem will remain as long as science (v) is manipulated to uphold the status quo, no different than a cultures dominant religions of old.

Sort:  

Hello thanks for the comment! I read your post too. I believe that the scientific field needs to grow or evolve. New generations must be more ethical and honest with science and with themselves. Challenge the bureaucracy and remind them of the mission of science. I'm optimistic and I think some improvements are already happening.

Couldn't agree more!!! Let's keep getting the message our there :) Seems like we're well on our way to decentralizing funding for science. This will be an essential step I believe.