Steel Armor

in #science7 years ago

I was one of the first people to use a lighter weight AR680 Steel. The AR stands for Abrasion Resistance and is a measure that most people know now since companies started selling this cheap AR500 steel. The problem with it was it was heavy and wasn't very user friendly. I could have easily come out with a AR500 plate and sell it to people. I just couldn't bring myself to do it and do people a disservice. Your rig with front and back plates would be around 20lbs. You would be a very ineffective fighter with those boat anchors strapped to your body. The AR680 was 20% lighter and would stop more bullets that the AR500. The biggest hurdle was convincing the know it all that you could bend the steel at that hardness. That was the trick that I found. Curving the plate without breaking it. People said it couldn't be done. Well I did it and here is the video to prove it! Enjoy!