You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The biology of the possible: what artificial life can teach us about the nature of living systems

in #science6 years ago

Very fascinating.
I am part of the specialiced, reductional cohort (as most scientists are today), but I too see the need to bring together learned details. On the other hand, communication of science gets harder and harder the more specialized we are, as each field has its own sophisticated language.
AL is an interesting approach to solve some of these problems for sure.

Sort:  

@sco, I know what you mean, I also experience it. Every time someone asks me "what is your project about" I try to put it in very simple words; however if they ask further I realize immediately that there are lots of background knowledge that I would need to explain in order for them to grasp the main hypothesis I work with.

I think anything that works on understanding general principles rather than specifics, like AL, can help us make big leaps in the way we understand the biology of things.