You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fun with Fermentation

in #science6 years ago

I love fermented foods so much that I used to host a fermented foods potluck that I called Cultured Club! It was really a lot of fun.

I mostly make saurkrauts, salsas, and kombucha.

What I always found so interesting about fermeting is that there is a fine line between safely fermented and hazardously rotten. If you get the salt balance wrong, or introduce a contaminant, let too much air in, or have any food material above the level of your brine, you have a big rotten mess as opposed to a delicious fermented health tonic. Ideally, we are creating the perfect environment for the RIGHT organisms to grow, while creating an environment inhospitable to the ones that would make us sick :) Cool food science for sure!

Sort:  

I like your comment, it is really wonderful!

Haha thanks! followed you to see what you are all about!

Always welcome! Nice to have you on board!