You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Money For Someone Else's Work - The Scandal of Journals Behind Paywalls

in #science8 years ago

Excellent. I have been griping about this since I was in grad school. Yes, I had access to most of the journals, but it was beyond stupid that the taxpayers that were bankrolling the educational/academic system couldn't see what their money bought.

Moving on, peer review can be a joke. Especially in the soft sciences, journal acceptance can be a function of toeing the line. At the 2016 ASC meeting, Adrian Raines (Anatomy of Violence) talked about the difficulty in having his work discussed because the "depraved b/c deprived" sociology crowd simply didn't want anything that countered their narrative.

Not to mention that prevailing research cultures can also affect research funding!

Finally, the whole publish or perish concept is made worse by the fortress mentality of the publishers.

Thanks for addressing this issue.

Sort:  

Thanks for your perspective.

Moving on, peer review can be a joke. Especially in the soft sciences, journal acceptance can be a function of toeing the line.

Exactly and that slows down progress too.

Finally, the whole publish or perish concept is made worse by the fortress mentality of the publishers.

Yes and they love it because they get huge piles of cash for doing very little so they don't want things to change or to have more competition.

Thanks for addressing this issue.

You're welcome. My previous article went into more detail if you haven't seen it before.

I've got it bookmarked ;>///I'm on que item 12343 out of 22348 right now LOL

Lol I know the feeling! I have a mega reading list too:)

replied here for nesting:

I was going to look at paperfile, but Zotero has a HUGE additional selling point...it's free;>

https://steemit.com/study/@stevescoins/zotero-for-scholars-students-and-archivists-a-free-tool-for-organizing-and-citing-your-research

Cool, I will check it out:)

do you use Zotero? I love it. I tried EndNotes and thought it sucked. Never tried Mendeley. Great way to store and organize em

Anyway, I've got about 12000 refs in my Zotero db, and I've only read (1000 of them, with a good chunk of skimming and cherry picking another 2000.

I have Mendeley but more recently I'm trialling this :

https://paperpile.com/

It is pretty basic but that actually saves some time. I need to retry Mendeley because the last version I used kept crashing my Ipad (which I use a lot for reading).

Need to take a look at Zotero.