Teach Your Students How To Collect Data And Do Research Using Seeds, Soil, Water, Sun And LOVE!

in #science6 years ago

While I don’t tend to fall for marketing gimmicks, in fact, I usually despise them, this time, THEY GOT ME! If you are a fellow South African, you’ll know what I am talking about by the images below, if you are not in the loop however, I’ll explain briefly. One of our local grocery outlets is currently running a promotion where if you spend a certain amount in store, you get X amount of prepacked seedling growing kits. The idea is to collect the various plant species and, well, grow them! Each package includes a biodegradable planting pot, a small peat brick, seeds and a paper spike with the plant’s name on it. Of course, this store is taking full advantage of their “promotion” and you can purchase additions to compliment your little garden, like trays, spades and forks, watering cans and so forth. 

Images by @sweetpea

While the little seed boxes are aimed at encouraging children to grow their own food and plants, adults are going just as crazy over the marketing initiative and all of a sudden, everyone is an avid gardener! But like I said, this time, they got me too. I have fallen utterly in love with the concept of growing little green fingers. But while gardening with kids is fun and super productive, it can also be an awesome learning opportunity. 

If you are a teacher, why not grow your own little garden in tiny pots with your students. If you live in South Africa, you can collect the little seed boxes, but you can just as well purchase your own seeds, soil and planters. Now, with this activity, the learning opportunities are endless! You can learn about germination, different plant species, photosynthesis and and and! But this is what I propose:

Teach Your Students How To Collect Data And Do Research Using Seeds, Soil, Water, Sun And LOVE!


Why not get your students (or even your own kids if you are a parent) to plant their seeds, and then collect data; like when they sprout, how long they take to sprout, which seeds took the less amount of time to sprout and so on. I have included a table below as an example, which you are more than welcome to copy! 

Now that you have taught your kids to collect data, you could ask them to come up with some of their own hypotheses using their very own information. You can adapt this project to be more or less challenging, depending on the age group you teach. Because the seeds and plant take quite a long time to reach maturity, this will need to be a long-term class project, perhaps something that the kids can focus on when they have completed other work, or you can all work together on collecting your data during the last few minutes of a school day.

I always feel that by including whatever the hype is at the time into lessons, you are more likely to have the full attention and participation of your learners. So, be like me, take full advantage of the marketing ploy and use it as a constructive learning resource – this way you’ll be the winner, and the grocery outlet the sucker 😉

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Oh it looks a very brilliant idea. Unfortunately I live in an apartment and I don't have garden.. But I am dreaming and aiming to have a home i future with a garden. Even today I told one of my friend that I want to plant flowers and some fruit trees. It should be something amazing to see how your plants grow up everday..

Ah you could always plant a few Violets or indoor plants on your window ledge. I get so excited when I see a seed sprout for the first time, there's something so magical about it!

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

I am a minimalist and thus try to consume less while leaving less of a carbon footprint... planting at home is extremely rewarding. It is just like watching our Steemit Wallet grow, it may be slow but something I always look forward to. As someone with a BSc degree, I am used to hypothesis, seeing the word invoke a lot of memories of my university year. Thanks for sharing

I have to agree with you, waiting and watching a plant grow from a seed is EXACTLY like watching a Steemit wallet grow. Both need tender love and care to make it in this world! Congrats on your degree, such an achievement!!!

LOL.. thanks... I got my degree 15 years ago... I've forgotten most of what I have learn.. but the skills and such are something which I'll cherish for life.. what kind of programme or subject do you teach?

I used to teach prschoolers, but that was many years ago, now I help my hubby with his business part time and look after my kid :) best job in the world!

Looks like you are living the dream.. what kind of business your husband is in?

Where did you get this @sweetpea? My son (and hubby) would absolutely love this.

When you buy groceries at Checker you get the little seed boxes with the soil etc. and then you can purchase extra goodies like the tray and utensils etc. :)

And now I live in Nam. Will see if the checkers i Windhoek has them

hello sweetpea how r u everytime ur post very good and different from others i like ur post,
plz follow me