What A Slimy Experiment! SlimeBy @sweetpea, And Kiddo

in #science6 years ago

My three-year-old has developed a fascination for slime and lately we have been going through tons of the stuff. In fact, to my despair, there’s slime in nearly every nook and cranny in my home, it’s an infestation of gooeyness! But, like always, I entertain my son and I take advantage of the things that fascinate him and try to turn the play into something casual and educational. So, this week we brought out the scientists in us once again and headed off to the lab (aka mom’s kitchen) to mix up our very own slimy and flubbery potion!

My little dude was so excited to make his own slime that we skipped tea time to “get to it”. I had just been to the shops to pick up the necessary ingredients, so we were all good to go. The materials and ingredients are super basic, and super affordable, so you really can make this a regular activity with your kids.

Here's what you will need:


  • White craft glue (or you can use clear glue too, for a more transparent slime)
  • Food colouring (we chose blue, like always)
  • Water
  • Borax 

Time to get gooey!

The steps are super simple, all you need to do is:


  1. Mix a quarter cup of glue with half a cup of water.
  2. Add your food colouring and mix well.
  3. In a separate cup or beaker, mix 4 tablespoons of Borax with a quarter cup of water. Mix until the Borax is completely dissolved.
  4. Add the Borax mixture to the glue mixture a little at a time, stirring until you are happy with the consistency (we went with a more flubbery slime this time around).

Images by @sweetpea

So, What Is Slime Actually?


Slime is called a "non-Newtonian fluid.” A scientist, Isaac Newton (1642-1727) did a ton of work with mathematics, gravity, motion, and fluids. The thickness of fluids is called "viscosity,” the more viscous a substance is, the slower it flows. A good example is slime or something you probably have a home, ketchup. Ketchup is more viscous than water, and peanut butter is more viscous than ketchup. Newton noted that the thickness of fluids and how fast a fluid would flow were affected by its temperature. When a substance is heated, it tends to be less viscous, like ice cream that's been out of the freezer too long, and if a substance like ice cream is cooled, it becomes more viscous. Because slime doesn't react to hot or cold like water or ice cream does, it's considered "non-Newtonian" because its viscosity can be changed by squeezing, stirring, adding pressure, and more! - https://slimemaking.com/how-does-slime-work/

Of course, the above explanation was way to advanced for my three-year-old, I stuck to the explanation that the ingredients made a reaction when they mixed together, and they liquid and solid ingredients made a new “in between” product, which we call slime! 

Source: https://www.thoughtco.com/slime-science-how-it-works-608232

Once you’ve made your gloop, be sure to store it in an air-tight container, or a Ziplock bag, so that it doesn’t dry out. On a rainy day or when your kids are in a fidgety mood, bring out the slime to keep those busy little fingers active and work those fine motor skills. Playing with slime is also a type of sensory play: ad scent to your slime for smell, feel it with your fingers, listen to it splutter on a surface, watch it stretch and as for tasting, well, I don’t recommend that!

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

Congratulations @sweetpea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That's a good recipe. I will need to bookmark it for future reference.

I was going to ask if it was non-newtonian but then I saw that you answered my question.

He he, I must admit, I learnt something new, I didn't even know what non-newtonian was until I did this activity and some research!

I see that you have found a recipie with out shaving cream. Our kids have been alone obsessed for quite some time. It was super cool and fun at first. Lol now we find slime everywhere. It’s a never ending phase. Lol in all seriousness though, it is lots of fun and an amazing example of chemical reactions. Our girls do all sorts of different things with it, colours, sparkles, clear slime with glitter. You name it, they’ve done it.

Oh yes, I am sure we will eventually start glittering up our slime too, it seems to be quite the trend with kids these days, And I feel you! I already have slime everywhere, my poor sofa :( but that's life with kids I guess! Wonder what kind of gimmicks the world has in store for us, and what will fascinate our kids in future?

Thanks for sharing your slime recipe i should try it:) and i love the litle definiton of slime:) have a great weekend

thanks for sharing dear friend. I will do it with my two year old girl. I'm not sure if in my country they sell that borax product

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

So doing this witb my son. Thanxs @sweetpea

@steem881 you're on the @abusereports naughty list! Bad Steemian!

@steem881 you're on the @abusereports naughty list! Bad Steemian!