You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Our Bodies Absorb Genetic Material From Foods/Organisms We Eat? Discussing Some Conflicting Results

in #science7 years ago

I will look more into that! I for sure like to see the whole perspective and like to be as informed as I can be for my patients. Will do more research into that realm soon.

From school, they were just speaking about the genetic material itself....it does appear to have other dangers. Thanks for letting me know.

Sort:  

It's very context specific, some changes that people worry about (like the apple that doesn't turn brown, because of a reduction in the expression levels of an oxidase, that modification will not have any effect on anyone) are misplaced concern. Other cases have more validity (expression of insect toxins in the plants etc... and may play a role in human health), and require significantly more study.

Just wanted to clarify my statements a bit.

Very interesting. I am always open to what science has to offer. After reading about it more, I will for sure have to think about the pros and cons. I just didn't read that much about it in the past.

A bit off topic-- the fears of diet soft-drinks were pretty much struck down by my biochem instructor as well. He had a very sarcastic take on the worries people have for artificial sweeteners (I tend to agree with him because he put a lot of work into this realm). It is hard to find the data online for all the great work he did breaking down each molecule process when aspartame breaks down. If I can find his take on this I may be able to write an article on that too!

Do it! I don't know much about the biochemistry of aspartame and the like, so I would be interested to learn more.