You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basking sharks (Cetorhinus maximus) have been found to have swarming behavior in the autumn, and no one knows exactly why

in #science6 years ago

I have been thinking that it might have to do with a breeding ritual myself, and it's cool to see that multiple people have also been thinking about this. I tried to find out what I could about their breeding habits, and it does not seem like we really know anything about it, so it is absolutely plausible.

It's great to see that there's a satellite tagging problem in place. I bet we will learn a lot more about these sharks in the next decade with all this research going on.

That's a cool fact. And it makes a lot of sense that these could be mistaken for "sea monsters" after having decomposed to a certain extent.