You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Disulfides in Proteins

in #science6 years ago

Hello @suesa

I couldn't help but chuckle at your sketches all the way through. I regularly workout at the gym and have some basic knowledge of protein and amino acids. Was nice to get a more technical break down of how they function.

Question/Suggestion: I guess protein supplements like whey, specifically the "Gold" brand work in a similar fashion when consumed? If not I think it would be an interesting post to read. :)

Sort:  

Protein supplements just provide you with amino acids that you need (and sometimes can't produce yourself). No relation to disulfides. You eat the protein, it's broken down in amino acids and those are used to form new proteins :)

Yep, sounds about right. Thanks for the clarification :)

Welcome to Steem, remember me when you are rich :]

You know about it,, I personally never been to Gym and I dont know anything at all about Protein or amino acids.
But Seriously have huge muscles just like a Champion.
.
.
.
I am just kidding: No gym= No muscles looool

Haha, maybe one day? ;)

"No gym = No muscles"

Have you ever seen a black person?

hey @xodan,
I recently wrote a post about collagen supplements, which is also a protein, and general protein supps will be a topic of mine in the next 2-3 weaks.
Let me tell you a spoiler: If you take up enough proteins via your regular nutrition, there is absolutely no need to take supplements - not even if you want to gain muscle mass.