Meteorology: The Nefarious & Wondrous, Freezing Rain

in #sciencepic6 years ago (edited)

Tis’ the season for nasty weather and all the hazards that come along with it. For the past two weeks, the area I’m currently living was forecasted to get multiple snowstorms. Instead, we barely received any snow and got freezing rain! At first I was pretty let down about not getting to see a hefty amount of snow. That was until I saw how beautiful ice storms are. With that being said, I decided to take some pictures of the event to share with the Steemit community today. On top of that, I’ll also discuss what causes freezing rain to happen.

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 1.53.14 AM.png Pine tree sapling covered in ice. Image Source: Author of article.

Typically, freezing rain isn’t something to be excited about. It usually brings nuisances such as downed power lines, fallen trees, car accidents, amongst other hazards. While they do provide a beautiful landscape, they can be pretty dangerous to those living in areas prone to them. This particular ice storm was fairly mellow and luckily did not cause any of the aforementioned hazards. Truthfully, I shouldn’t have taken a hike into the woods while it was occurring because I could hear branches falling and cracking all over the place, but I was pretty excited about it all.

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 1.57.15 AM.png Image Source: Author of article.

What causes freezing rain to occur?

For starters, it’s not snow, nor sleet and not exactly rain either. Freezing rain occurs under very specific conditions. In order for it to take place, there needs to be cool enough conditions for the clouds in the upper atmosphere to precipitate snow. While a cold air mass is in place, a warmer air mass begins to encroach into the cooler air mass, but not all at once. It generally creates a leading edge nose that wedges it’s way into the cooler air mass. This creates three layers of differentiating temperatures the precipitation will fall through— freezing (snow clouds), above freezing (rain) and back to sub-freezing (hundreds of meters above surface). As the snow falls, it goes through the warmer air mass, causing it to melt. However, near the surface the temperatures remain below freezing causing the rain to be supercooled. When the rain hits the surface, it freezes creating a glaze over all surfaces e.g. roads, sidewalks, trees, plants, cars, etc.

5877cb8a3110c.image.jpg
This diagram will help visualize the process that allows freezing rain to occur. [Image Source]

While this process of would appear rather simple, the rare occurrence of freezing rain begs to differ. Hence why it proves to be such a hazard to the region in which it occurs. All being said, I’m glad I got to see just a smidgen of its influence on my surroundings the other day because it provided some truly astonishing views. I hope you enjoy the pictures I took of the ice storm! It was a real joy to photograph the event.

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 1.56.11 AM.png Tree bending under the weight of the accumulated ice. Image Source: Author of article.

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 2.03.55 AM.png Welcome to Ice Land, not to be mistaken with Iceland. Image Source: Author of article.

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 1.58.02 AM.png A single string of spider web covered in ice. I was actually very surprised to see this. Image Source: Author of article.


If you enjoyed reading this post, be sure to give me a follow and check out the rest of my blog. Overall, my blog consists of scientific topics dealing with geology, meteorology, food and history. The goal of this blog isn’t to earn money per se. While that is a nice benefit, I’m more interested in networking, learning, informing and helping the Steemit community grow to new heights. Thanks for all your support!


Bibliography:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freezing_rain
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supercooling
http://www.weather.gov/rnk/measure_icing

GEO3-01.png

Sort:  

We don't get much frozen precipitation in my part of the world (Australia) but I did photograph this. It was a very cold drizzling day with very strong winds where I took this photo. I'm guessing this is frozen rain? From Mt Canobolas, Central NSW, Australia (1395m ASL = 4580 feet ASL).
ice.JPG
Click Image to view full size

I was about to say freezing fog, but it reacts a bit differently to surfaces— typically it has a crystalline appearance. While the same principles apply, that would appear to be freezing rain.

I had a feeling it had been below zero overnight and cloud/light rain moved in which kept the temperatures from rising too much during the day. From memory there was mostly light rain falling with the odd snow flake.

I grew up in Kamsas, and we got freezing rain there all the damn time. More than we got rain half the damn time.

I honestly didn't realize freezing rain happened so often in the Midwest. Living in Texas I knew Dallas would have their run-ins with it @vanholio, but I always assumed Kansas either got wicked super cells or raging blizzards. When I think about the process in order for it to occur, it actually makes sense why they would happen more often there.

Kansas gets everything. The weather is crazy heterogenous there.

I lived in Dallas-Fort Worth for many years. Freezin' rain was what we got more than snow. And of course, that only 2-3 a winter, I think. Never stuck around long. Pain in the ass for commuters day of, though!

Nature, the greatest show on earth!

Freezing rain makes the world hell.

I m from Croatia we never have freezing rain, can you tell me how does nature react react.
When we have such nasty weather our entire agriculture feels the consequence.

Freezing rain can be devastating to a region depending on the severity of it. It has caused deaths along with crippling economies. It is very pretty though, but nasty indeed.