You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sabattis Scout Trek 2017

in #scout7 years ago (edited)

The images remind me of the movie Last of the Mahicans. I have no one to camp with down here, and it makes me sad thinking about it. One day my younger children will be older, and maybe they will want to go. My oldest does not. He'd rather spend all day in front of a computer. Right, @m1k3?

For some reason the first image is not appearing for your post. Maybe put a space between it and the next one?

6K acres? That's insane. I'd love to just own 100. What did you bring with you? I'd be curious to see what you carried for a week. It's all canoe, so you went in heavy, right?

What is the mechanism for the first image? Is it some sort of water lock?

Sort:  

Yes, we basically base camped and then did day hikes each day. The first pic is a gear mechanism on top of the lower dam.

That gear and dam remind me of how I'd love to have a micro hydro system setup one day. They are silent and would be great for opsec!

Seems like it would be easy to defeat the padlock and open the gate to make a heck of a mess. Perhaps its an old mechanism no longer in use.

Bah, for some reason, I missed this reply. Steemit loses our replies pretty often apparently.