Scout Sled

in #scout7 years ago

I built a sled for our scout troop to use at the Klondike. I had researched different design ideas online and just kind of built this on a whim. I used Kreg screws to hold it together primarily and then added rope and rawhide for appearance. The treads have a low friction plastic screwed to them and I have bicycle tires attached to the rear foot steps. Overall it turned out great and it is very lightweight which makes it easy to pull. I enjoy making projects like this one and the boy scouts allow me that avenue of expression.

....on to the next project!dog sled 2014.jpg

Sort:  

Was this actually pulled by dogs? Sometimes I forget you guys are up there in the tundra. haha

Ha! The fun part is these are "scout" powered. Although this could be pulled by dogs.

Ahh, okay, so it's a race with the boys. That makes more sense now, thanks!