Celtic Cross - ice sculpture

in #sculpture3 years ago

A Celtic cross I made for Galway Irish pub in downtown Québec. To be honest, I feel quite comfortable with this type of sculpture. A lot of artists don't like to use the cartesian part of their brain and prefer to do figurative or abstract art that, in some sense, involve more of their emotional brain. On the contrary, I really like it. Placing the lines at first is the hard part. Then, you just have to be precise and patient. Some would say that the work becomes more like craft rather than art, which I don't mind at all. There's a zen state you have to be in to create those that I truly enjoy.

2021-01 Celtic cross 01

Shout out to my Irish friends! Sláinte!

Sort:  

Nicely done. I know exactly what you mean about the Zen part of doing celtic knot work. Interesting that you where at an Irish bar, I haven't been near one for over a year.

They were actually only doing take-out and delivery at the time (they serve food) and we had a few weeks last month where the restaurant's dining rooms were open with limited capacity. Now we are pretty much back to full lock-down because of variants... but hey! We've got ~20% of the population vaccinated so... summers going to be great!

Not great here either but there is some light at the end of the tunnel. I pretty much think we can write this year off as well. Hopefully 2022 we can get back to some sort of normal, whatever that will look like.
!ENGAGE20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

super awesome, you are really tallented

Logically I know symmetrical stuff can be done manually, but it trips me out when I see people doing or that have done it manually, because I would not function without mirror tools XD

This is a nice piece of ice.

Looks amazing... like glass 🤩