Handmade hedgehogs figures inspired by Alice in Wonderland animated movie

in #sculpture3 years ago (edited)

I was away from the blockchain for a while but never stopped building things. I see many things changed here since my last post, I want to see if for better. Are there many people who follow me still alive here or just ghosts? Here is the most recent figurine I completed inspired by character from Disney animation Alice in Wonderland. It is the hedgehog used for play of cricket that's why he looks a bit scared. He will soon be hit with flamingo's head if you still remember the scene from this classic movie.

hedgehogs1.JPG
I made this figures from scratch. Started with digital sculpt using the free program called sculptris. Here is the very first sketch I did not like too much so scrapped it and started one more time after few months of other projects.
hedgehog.JPG
The new awesome piece of software appeared since then. It is called Nomad sculpt and it is very powerful app on Android and Ipad so I could use the phone and later my tablet to sketch the second version of the figurine. It went smooth and I liked how he looked so I cut it to pieces and prepared for 3d printing. I used my brand new resin 3d printer to test it and it went much better than I ever expected. The pieces still needed a lot of post processing like with every prototype I make.

IMG_20210301_183759.jpg
To get the smooth finish I use lots of primer and sanding. The little holes are filled with fine filler, layer of paint, sand and repeat. When everything was perfect, it was time for mold making.

IMG_20210322_125113.jpg
I put each part on pile of Chavant clay and sculpted the parting line. I used 3d plastic shells I specially designed to enclose the part. Then filled the cavity with liquid silicone and let it set.

IMG_20210322_103306.jpg

When it was ready, I opened the molds and prepared it for casting. I mixed resin with pigments to get the right color and cast them in pressure pot to remove the bubbles. I wanted this figure in reach vibrant colors and designed the parts so each one is separate part. Just small details like nose, eyes and feet were painted with brushes. The joints were also filled with resin from the same batch to match the colors. It was first time I did it this way so it was another experiment like most of my projects. I like to learn by doing things ;)
I hope you like this short description of the process of creating the resin sculpture. If you did, please support me with your votes and comments. Would you like to see my other projects here on Hive? Thank you for your time and attention.

Sort:  

Welcome back! You probably have a lot of “dead followers” from back in the Steemit days, but honestly I think a lot of mine were bots and inactive accounts from the start back then. There’s still a small but solid active community and I do think things have changed for the better.

I just recently bought Nomad Sculpt to expand my creative horizons but haven’t sat down & played around with it yet. Your sculpts look great!

Yes the bots and autovoting was discouraging for me from the beginning, why spend time and write post if nobody really cares and it reached only few real people. I spent last years trying to build the audience on instagram what allowed me to sell my work and make it my job.
Nomad is exactly what I was waiting for. Portable but so many tools and allows to make anything I need. It was even great excuse to buy my first tablet. Play with it when you have a chance. When combined with 3d printer it is incredible how it changes making small editions of collectibles. The problem is that digitally you can polish and change the sculpt to infinity and hard to say, ok it is done ;)