Sea Photography Contest Week 17 - Black and White

in #seaphotography5 years ago

It's interesting how editing a photograph in black and white is a completely different process to editing in colour. When I edit a colour photo my main concern is getting my palette right - are the blues the right shade of blue, are the greens the right shade of green and then their relative balances and strengths. After that I just focus on highlight detail, shadow detail and contrast.

However when editing a black and white photo the relative strength of light and dark areas in the photo and where they are in relation to compositional elements is more important to me. The texture of objects becomes important as well and how the soft parts of the image fit next to the detailed parts becomes a subject of great concern. I have to confess I haven't quite wrapped my brain around all of this yet and so I spend far, far longer tweaking a black and white photograph than I do a colour one simply because there are more decisions to be taken.

My entry then for the Week 17 seascape competition took a fair amount of time in Lightroom to get it how I wanted it to be. Let me know what you think in the comments :-)

DSC_3648-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3657-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3679-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

All three images were taken on a rather blustery but still warm day at Praia da Malhada on the Silver Coast in Portugal. It was very cloudy and hazy but those conditions really help with long exposures as there is much less risk of lens flare.


Equipment Used

  • Nikon D7000
  • Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8
  • Tokina 11-24 f/4
  • Nikon 18-55
  • Tripod and remote release
  • Cokin Nuances and Cokin P-Series ND filters
  • CPL
  • Adobe Lightroom
  • DxO Nik Collection - Color Efex Pro

More photos on like this on my blog here and here

Sort:  

I am deeply impressed. The time spend in Lightroom was worthwhile indeed! Very beautiful. It never fails to amaze me what can be done using monochrome :)

Thank you so much for your comment - it's good to know that I'm heading in the right direction with these edits :-)

You absolutely do :) I am still far away from that level :)

you are too kind, thank you again :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .