Dovercourt Lighthouse

in #seaphotography5 years ago

Dovercourt Lighthouse



Dovercourt Lighthouse.jpg
Please click on the image to view full screen!


CategorySeascape
Settings50 sec | f/16 | ISO 64 | 21mm
CameraOlympus OMD EM1 Mark 2
LensOlympus 12-40 f/2.8 Pro
LocationDovercourt, Essex, UK

I love a long exposure involving the sea and how it keeps an image clean and tidy by removing distractions on the water. I believe it helps to convey a feeling of peace and serenity. I keep a 10 stop and 6 Stop ND filter in my bag for such occasions. It was a very cold morning in February last year when I shot this and it was just as the sun showed itself on the horizon.

A little later and the conditions were not so good as the sun was behind and just a little to the left of the lighthouse. It became very bright causing the lighthouse to become silhouetted. I had another shot in mind which did not work, so I paid another visit two weeks later and concentrated my efforts late in the afternoon when the sun was in a better position, behind me and to the right. I had to take notice of tide times too and If you are interested you can read about it and view that image here. https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@richee/dovercourt-lighthouse-or-entry-for-landscape-seascape-contest-week-001

This is my entry for "SEAPHOTOGRAPHY CONTEST - WEEK 23" https://steemit.com/seaphotography/@marc-allaria/seaphotography-contest-week-23-theme-announcement

Thanks for reading

Richee

Website https://www.richeewilson.com/
Instagram

Sort:  

This is a great shot! Resteemed!

Many thanks

Magical picture :)

What a great picture. Will have a look at the other pictures.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks :)

Beautiful. So soft!

Thanks 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android