Organ playing in times of Corona | My favorite entries of the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest, Week 65

In this post I give my favorite entries of this week's contest. It's of course not the best of time for an organ playing contest. Those of us that have an instrument at home can still participate. Churches in most of Europe are closed and probably in other parts of the world as well. So, those of us that depend on a real live instrument in a church that is closed for the time being will have to wait for better times.

Allthough, if they have a midi capable keyboard (synthesizer, electronic piano or electronic organ) they can use the software Hauptwerk or Grand Orgue. The latter has the advantage that it is free. The former has the advantage that more sample sets of organs are available for it. To explore the possibilities of virtual organs, Grand Orgue is the best option as it is free. And there exist some really good sample sets that can be used with Grand Orgue, for example some of the sample sets by Piots Grabowsky. In the Netherslands goods ordered on the internet are still delivered, so for the costs of a (cheap) midi keyboard one can start playing the organ at home.

I started to use Hauptwerk 6 or 7 years ago. My home organ (a Johannus opus 35) is midi capable so it was relatively easy to start using Hauptwerk. With a good sample set (like those of the previously mentioned Piotr Grabowsky) the sound is far superior to the native sound of my Johannus console. Since I started Hauptwerk, I don't use the samples of my Johannus console anymore, I use the console purely as the hardware for playing.

The beauty of Hauptwerk and Grand Orgue is that you can start with one simple midi capable keyboard. And the truth is that nobody stays satisfied with just one keyboard. If you have one, why not save money and buy a second or even a third one? And build or buy something you can stack them. And perhaps later add a midi capable pedal board to it. Or build one yourself if you're good with wood working. There are hundreds of examples of self build Hauptwerk consoles available on the internet. Just one Google search away.

Since I started with Hauptwerk I have spend my money on the computer and Hifi side of things. Sample sets can be resource hungry in terms of RAM, so I build myself a computer with 128 Gb of RAM. Should be enough for the next few years. The largest sample set I have takes up around 96 Gb of RAM. So I can still run a lot of other software, like video editing software for the youtube video I create, without having to unload the sample set. And spend some time figuring out how to use digital amplification so that the signal processing from my console, to my computer, to hauptwerk, to my amplifiers can stay digital, until in the final step, in the amplifier they are converted to analogue signals for the speakers.

Lately I started thinking about modifying my console. It has three manuals, which is already more than enough for most music. However, I'd like to add a fourth manual to it. And perhaps even replace the existing three manuasl with four new ones from a higher quality build. And I want to add some toe studs to mimic the operation of French Romantic organs. To connect al those and let it work with Hauptwerk, I have to learn how midi actually works.

If the present situation prolonges, I'll probably take the time to work out this next phase in my Hauptwerk adventure.

Looking at the entries for this weeks contest (including my own), it is neatly divided: 2 Hauptwerk, 2 real organs. As anyone can pick three performances as winning choices, I don't have to think. I pick the three contestants besides myself. So here goes:

Nr 1.
The next installment of @jeremyownes9501 series of Orgelbüchelin-performances
https://beta.peakd.com/secretsoforganplaying/@jeremyowens9501/secrets-of-organ-playing-week-65-contest-submission

Nr 2.
@contrabourdon's performance of a Toccata by Frescobaldi, with a very nice flute stop
https://beta.peakd.com/secretsoforganplaying/@contrabourdon/toccata-per-l-elevatione-f-12-31-girolamo-frescobaldi-or-secrets-of-organ-playing-contest-week-65

Nr. 3
@tormus1958 iwth one of J.S.Bach's socalled Neumeister Choräle
https://steempeak.com/sonicgroove/@tormus1958/secrets-of-organ-playing-week-64-bach-o-lamm-gottes-unschuldig-bwv-1095

And for those interested, here's my own entry:

https://beta.peakd.com/secretsoforganplaying/@partitura/johann-sebastian-bach-triosonata-nr-5-bwv-529-3rd-movement-or-secrets-of-organ-playing-contest-week-65


source: publicdomainpictures.net.com


Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!