A tough pill to swallow

in #security7 years ago

I always thought that my accounts would be safe...after all, I had used a mixture of numbers, alphabets and alpha-numerical letters in all my passwords. But yesterday quite the opposite of what I believed happened. Partly it was my fault...I should have set up a 2-factor authentication on the account. Sadly, I didn't...I was under the impression that it would be safe. The password isn't something that I use every where...to be honest, I have only used it for the exchanges where I trade so I didn't think of it much.

I mean I am used to logging into my accounts everyday to check up on the trades and other things. While working or doing other things I would always spend a couple of minutes to check the different markets and put up some more orders and that was my daily routine. Not once did the account get compromised but yesterday when I logged on, I saw some notifications of trades that I had never placed...coins that I have just been holding onto as an investment for when the time is right and all my other cryptocurrency orders being canceled and sold off for bitcoin.

The perpetrator wasn't able to hack the password to my email since there is none for it. Every single time I need to log into my account, I would have it send me a reset pin to my smartphone which I would then use to gain access to my email so I guess that kind of made it hard for the person to hack it. I am quite surprised they were even able to get my password for the exchange.

I ran a virus scanner on my laptop and it turns out that every thing is clean, I have never been to websites that I don't trust so the chances of my password being found out along with my email are slim. I understand my laptop is old but I try to take the security of it quite seriously. After all, I use it to trade cryptocurrency.

The hacker was able to get away with close to 2000 dollars...all the money that I had saved up and was slowly trading here and there to increase. The act happened while I was asleep because when I got online and checked the logs in the exchange, every thing happened just 12 hours before my log in time. Sadly this puts me in a tough spot...I was supposed to use that money to help me fix a few things in my life as well as to get my newborn her insurance. I don't mind having insurance for me but for her, I would do anything.

How did they manage to transfer the money without getting a withdrawal confirmation through email? Well, that is where things got interesting...cryptopia has a transfer from user to user function which I didn't know and which the perpetrator exploited for his or her benefit, walking away with close to 2 grand worth of bitcoin.

With a heavy heart and much anger...I logged a support ticket for the staff to investigate the security issue and I hope it gets resolved...even though deep down I know...once the funds have been transferred offsite...there won't be much I can do about it and write it off as gone for good.

Now I am back to where I started...nothing in my savings and my family to take care of. My advice folks...always set up a 2-factor authentication on every account that you have and make sure to never use the same email for exchanges that you use every where else.

Time for me to get back to working even harder than before because now I will have to take care of everything on my own without insurance sadly. :(

Sort:  

I am quite surprised they were even able to get my password for the exchange.

That's the real mystery in your story. One of the devices you use to login to Cryptopia is probably compromised... I would be very careful about using them until you figure out the hack...

I am not quite sure either how so I guess I will just have to stick to not using any exchanges and passwords on any of my devices for a while.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This is unfortunate, always use as many layers of security as you can. I'm going to send you a small gift, please keep it safe.

57 seconds ago Transfer 2.000 SBD to kyrios sorry for your loss.

Thank you @sammosk, yes that was a tough pill to swallow, I am going to make sure all my accounts will have every layer of security possible. As your apprentice, I feel bad for learning so much and then just losing it all due to security issues :(.

We live and learn, I mentioned a thousand times to find a new home for your crypto that was not an exchange. :(

My laptop can't handle wallets :(

Why not buy a new one??? ^^

Sadly don't have funds for a new one yet

@reggaemuffin got you a $1.72 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@reggaemuffin got you a $1.72 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Thanks bud.

This post received a 5% vote by @netuoso courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Be sure to go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for @netuoso.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 5% vote by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @nettybot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Be sure to go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for @netuoso.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

thank you for sharing, i will keep up this always in my mind

Good mate. Even your steemit account you should have a 2fa security on it

I'm so sorry to hear of this loss. I hope you can recover. Following and resteeming.

Thank you and I hope even though I know the chances are low..I hope still that I can get the money back.

I am saying a prayer. I really hope it can be recouped.

Oh no! That is horrible.

I know well nothing I can do about it now that it has happened..my fault for not setting up a 2 factor authenticator.

You have a good attitude. That is a lot of money and I would be devasted. You have made me realize I should stay away from things that I don't understand!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is such an unfortunate event. You never think it'll be you. It is so sad that people do this to each other. I am very sorry and hope you recover from this blow quickly. hugs Check ur wallet

I know I didn't quite believe it at first when I logged on and saw everything I thought it was just my imagination..and then almost..I couldn't breathe when I saw it all...thanks for the hug

This really sucks. Sorry to hear it.

I know it is something hard to swallow even for me :(

This post has been resteemed by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Wow, some people just don't think about how their actions could hurt others. I'm so sorry that you are going through this.

Well I hope they gain a conscience and realize what they are doing.

Unfortunately, that's not a common practice. We can always hope, but often times it does not happen.

Sorry for your loss. Some lessons are learned a hardy way. But thanks for sharing and warning about it to everyone who is still not using 2FA. I hope this lesson will make you emerge stronger in future. What was the support ticket response anyway? Any helpful?

They said they are investigating it and will get back to me as soon as they can.

I see. I think that is the only hope now. Good luck with that!

I dont have much SP but I hope my upvote helps somehow.

Thanks for the thought mate :)

No worries! The awesome thing here in STEEMIT is we help a lot of people with an easy upvote! :D

Oh man! That is such a horrible thing to happen to you after all the hard work, and so easy too. Hopefully security gets tightened so others don't fall victim in the same way.

I hope so @bmj.

OMG.. I'm sorry to hear that Bro :( I hope you will get blessings from God to replace your money. So sad. From now one you have to use 2FA security.

I know bro. If you haven't already go set up 2fa security on all your accounts. I would hate to have the same thing happen to anyone else

So sorry to hear dude, I hope you can get on your feet again and recover from this both economically and emotionally. Been through a hack myself about a year ago where I lost a similar amount, believe me I know it hurts... Its still good that you share your story so others can learn from it and help to avoid it, i keep everything i own in a cold wallet this time around!

Peace my fellow steemian bro<3

Hopefully I will mate. Like @sammosk, told me on discord..its just money and even though it has caused me grief right now. I will work even harder to get back up and get out of this. :) Peace bro :)

Omg my friend. So sorry to hear about what happened to you. I must have been really discouraging to wake up to such a bad news. I have just joined the world of crypto currency and your story makes me scared of ever trading anything. I don't even know how to jet. I hope you recover your funds quickly and manage to take care of your family. Glad you did not quit and you are getting back to work. I wish you all the best to you and your family.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and tips on how to better protect our funds. Not everybody would do so. Sending you some sbd. I don't have much since I joined couple days ago, but I can contribute a bit. :)

#theunmentionables

Thanks mate :) Well I am not going to quit. The thought did cross my mind a few times but I am not someone who gives up easily. I will be bouncing back soon and when I do..I will make sure to do things in a better way :) Thanks for everything.

You are more than welcome. Keep your head up and start working your way back on recovering some of what it was lost.

Keep us updated. :)

I summon the mighty @reggaemuffin

He is here @sammosk

Bless this poor soul with your attention for a moment. <3

Thank you mate for the upgoat :)

Congratulations @kyrios! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oh this is so terrible. I am so sorry to hear this! I am kind of frustrated with humanity to hear this even happened! You poor thing =( Sending you a huge hug even though that doesn't help undo it :( <3

Thank you for the thoughts and a hug is good :)

No this is terrible - so sorry - I am so scared of the whole hacker thing and online banking and stuff and now I see a story on it. I hope this never happens to you again - and I hope the thiefs get a terrible pain in their butts.

I hope so too. If I ever learn who the thief is in real life...I am sure I will give him a terrible pain in their butts.

Thank you for the article, kyrios. Me too, I am lazy about setting up two-factor authentication. I think we can no longer live without it. 😢 Upvoted.

You should make sure that all your accounts with money or even if they are not related to money have 2fa set up.

Will do. Thank you :)

I'm so sorry this happened to you. :(

Hopefully the hacker gains a conscience..doubt it will happen though.

Oh man, that's really really rough... People who do this sort of thing have no respect for others. I'm sorry this happened. I wish I could help, but being as I'm just a minnow and broke in real life (out of a job for a while), I really can't.

I do what I can. I upvoted, followed, and resteemed. Perhaps some of my followers will be able to help. I'll keep you in my thoughts and truly hope everything comes out ok. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks mate for your thoughts and don't worry too much about it. When I can, I will help you out. :)

Any time my friend. You take care of yourself and family there. you know how it goes, right? It'll all work out, just might take more time than you thought it would. Over simplified, I know, but it's true. :) Have a good day.

Congratulations @kyrios!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 3 with 63 comments

Wow thanks @arcange, didn't know that would happen.