Lock Picking Series (Number 1) Why you want to learn about lock picking

in #security7 years ago


In this post I will be giving my explanation as to why I am talking about lock picking and general security you think you have, but first lets go over some basic things you will need.

In this picture below you can see many of the things I have done so far and this is only after a mere 2 weeks!
Keep reading on and I will introduce you to a few of the things you see in this picture.
MrEasyFix_lock_pick_set.jpg

The first thing I had to do was fashion myself some picks. At first I tried to make them out of paper clips like I had seen in one of the first videos I happened to watch. That however was not very realistic. It became quite obvious that the guy in the video had the easiest pickable Master lock he could find, plus he used some very thick paper clips. All I had at home and at work were some tiny paperclips, but I did manage to rake open a cheap Uhaul lock once, then the paperclip was done!
So this picture shows you the very first picks I made myself out of the thin metal you can find sandwiched within windshield washer blades, just pull them apart and you will have 2 long pieces of metal to work with.
Note: there are generally 3 different thicknesses these inserts come in.
To make these tools below i used a bench grinder and a 1" belt sander and sometimes some fine files.
MrEasyFix_homemade_lock_picks.jpg
The larger one you see in this picture is the one I made today from a roll of spring steel, which actually was a Spring from one of the machines I use at work (quill spring from a Sharp endmill, see pictures below.
MrEasyFix_home_made_spring_steel_pick.jpg
MrEasyFix_home_made_spring_steel_pick_2.jpg
MrEasyFix_home_made_spring_steel_pick_3.jpg

You will also need some "Tension wrenches" tools too. The windshield wiper pieces make excellent tensioning tools.
Here are some I have made.
MrEasyFix_homemade_lockpicking_tension_wrenches.jpg

After picking a few locks (the ones in the first picture above) and seeing that it was actually possible to do this I went ahead and found a cheap lock picking set on eBay for $20. I knew they were not going to be the best, but I needed a starting point.
Here is the set I got.
I got this one because it came with car lock picks and regular lock picks. I believe it had 25 pieces.
MrEasyFix_lock_picking_set_from_ebay.jpg

Here is a couple close ups from that set
MrEasyFix_lock_pick_1.jpg
MrEasyFix_lock_pick_2.jpg
MrEasyFix_lock_pick_3.jpg
The quality is not the best and I already broke one of the pics, but it also came with this see-thru practice lock too, which lets you see what is going on inside of a padlock.
MrEasyFix_see_thru_practice_lock.jpg

MrEasyFix_see_thru_practice_lock_lockpicking.jpg

So why am I dedicating my time to lock picking stuff?
It's very simple actually, but it is not just one reason, so I have made a short list to better explain.

  1. It's a challenge. Like a puzzle to solve. Maybe more like one of those brain puzzle things you have to figure out.
  2. The more I learn about the different locks, the more I am intrigued to learn more.
  3. The more I learn about locks the, the more it worries me. We rely on these things to keep us safe and I can pick (rake) most locks in about 30 seconds! That is false security and I want to alert people to this fact.
  4. I like to fix things
  5. I now do not worry about being locked out of my house, lol
  6. And I also like to wake people up from the Matrix


In my next post on this series I will give a little bit more background and links to some of the videos I have watched that led me to learning about this cool new skill.

So if you like this and want to read more posts like this give me an upvote, resteem and hit the follow me button. This is gonna get interesting as I show more and more people. I will also start making videos on all of this too, maybe even a few live front door pickings with permission of course. You will not find anything illegal here!
Shalom and Steem On Steemians
MrEasyFix_bottom_thank_you.gif

Sort:  

Great post. Nice to see lockpicking over on steemit. I have a very similar set and that beginner lock is very useful to help explain to people they have sh*tty locks.

whats the hardest lock youve picked?

follow me shifty0g

I literally started doing this a couple weeks ago in my spare time. The only locks I have is basically what is in my house, so I think the hardest lock I have picked was actually a Defiant deadbolt with one spool in it. The padlocks I have are old and crappy from being used outside so those were a challenge to get past all the gunk, even after spraying them with lubricant.
Actually the hardest one was an Abus 85/40 which has a whole bunch of spool pins in it. I didn't know it before i picked it, no wonder it took me so long, lol.

Ok let me confirm, because I was messing with it again today. The Abus (Uhaul stamped on it) 85/40 is a bit hard because it has mushroom pins in it according to the Abus website on this particular lock.
https://www.abus.com/us/Commercial-Security/Padlocks/Brass/85/%28variant%29/09046
I don't have the key to it, not sure if I ever did, cause I believe it was my brothers from years ago.
Why did I still have it? Good question, lol, and the answer is, I have no idea! Guess it was waiting for this moment.

So interesting, really loved the practice lock:) Upvoted and followed, i hope you keep us updated:)

will do, I've been very busy at my 9-5 job :( ,but I am working on the next part in this series, thanks for your support, greatly appreciated. I am now following you too

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I do accept and do appreciate your help, thank you very much. This community is awesome, this is what it is all about, thank you again.

good post :)

thank you, more to come soon

Congratulations @mr-easyfix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mr-easyfix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Weehoo, I love Awards :]

Congratulations @mr-easyfix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!