Ledger Nano S - Multi-Currency Crypto Hardware Wallet

in #security8 years ago (edited)

If you've been in cryptocurrencies for a while you already know about hardware wallet providers like Trezor, Keepkey and Ledger. If you haven't, using a hardware wallet is the safest means of storing your Bitcoins. Ledger has gone a step further and has released the world's first multi-currency crypto hardware wallet. The current firmware supports Ether (ETH), Ether Classic (ETC) and Bitcoin (BTC).


BOLOS (Blockchain Open Ledger Operating System)

BOLOS represents a major change compared to what the smartcard industry offers today — it puts developers in the driving seat, providing an unobtrusive framework to build source code portable native applications around a secure core, protecting the core against applications attacks, and isolating applications from each other without getting in the way (hence the french pun). 

- from the Ledger Medium Blog


Dimension and Weight

Size: 98mm x 18mm x 9mm.

Weight: 16.2g.

Microcontrollers & Connector

Connector: USB Type Micro-B.

Certification level: CC EAL5+.

Chips: ST31H320 (secure) + STM32F042.

Compatibility

Windows (7+), Mac (10.8+), Linux or Chrome OS. Requires Google Chrome or Chromium, and one USB port to plug your Ledger Nano S.

Materials

Brushed stainless steel and Plastic.


- Specifications from Ledgers Nano S Product Page


Unboxing







Setting Up The Ledger Wallet


Ledger has added a nice booklet with a url to help you out (start.ledgerwallet.com). Choose Ledger Nano S and then Configure My Device to get started.





Connect your device to the usb port



After pressing both buttons:



Write down your 24 word seed on the My Recovery Phase booklet (be sure to write them down in the correct order)



Now go back to this screen on your PC and press Bitcoin or Ethereum Wallet Setup (I'm using Ethereum for the example)


The same applies for setting up Bitcoin.


Enjoy!

Sort:  

I'm so old school, I still think of this as a wallet.


great post.

You're new to crypto I give you max 6 months until you change your mind :)

Nice post, a hardware wallet is for sure a must if you own a lot of a crypto currency. I will also update my website http://hardware-wallet.com and http://hardwarewallet.nl ASAP. Trezor will also implement Ether soon and if you have one already you can just upgrade it!

Yes I heard about Trezors new wallet I think they haven't shipped their model yet, but I had already got a pre-order in for this wallet.

Excellent review, I think I'm going to get one of these, I was going to get the Trezor, But these are for sale on amazon for £60, which means I can get 20% discount through purse.IO. www.purse.io

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ledger-Nano-Cryptocurrency-hardware-wallet/dp/B01J66NF46/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470141970&sr=8-1&keywords=ledger+nano+s

I know what the first proposal from my #Dash masternode will be, someone to develop support for this wallet. Would probably only be a few days work for some of those geniuses.

This brings a new meaning to "Secure Wallet" , Great un-boxing and review . It's Sad to see that the wallet only supports 3 crypto-currencies and I would love it if they had added more . Thank you for the great post!

I think their firmware can support any cryptocurrency aslong as there's developer support.

This is a great write up. I've been rocking the Trezor, but my needs are expanding haha. I can't wait till we have an all-in-one any crypto goes hardware wallet.

May have to scoop this up

Just to add to my previous copy, Trezor will have a firmware update so no need to get a new hardware wallet. Just upgrade the one you have when it's out.

ah thanks for that, for some reason I was under the assumption that you'd have to get the new trezor hardware to be able to hold alts.

I have a KeepKey for Bitcoin but needed somewhere to have my ETH and ETH related tokens in cold storage (for things like REP and Plutus).

BEWARE:
As I understand it (someone please correct me if I'm wrong), but Nano pricate keys are exposed from the go.

You would need to use an airgapped machine to make the wallet lock tight which defeats the purpose of it if you're using it for cold storage.

I think you might be wrong

"This isolation mechanism will be available both on the Secure Element of Ledger Blue and its non secure MCU, with an Open Source implementation provided for the non secure MCU as we would like to encourage new designs to use ARM MCUs leveraging those protection mechanisms (such as the STM32L0 line from ST Microelectronics)"

"MALWARE PROOF
Even on a compromised computer, you can initialize your Nano S and confirm each transaction on the built-in display, protecting your assets against malware, theft or viruses."

Don't see what's wrong with Mycelium on your phone, record seed, delete app.

Yes it's free and I can restore anywhere in the world without having to worry about a USB stick.

Option 2 is Electrum on TAILS USB
Again, it's free!... And it's a USB stick
Plus no one is ever going to argue they can beat that option for security.

All these news toys. I suppose cashed up crypto kids have to spend it on something.

Whatever you feel safe with I guess.

yes, you are wrong. You can initialize the nano safely on any computer, even if the computer is compromised.

How much did this cost to you? i mean is it overpriced.

It cost 69.60EUR + shipping . Depends how much crypto you have but personally I think it's a good buy, for peace of mind alone.

You can find the details here https://www.ledgerwallet.com/products/12-ledger-nano-s

I expect delivery on the next week

I guess you didn't pre-order. Anyway it's a nice litte toy enjoy :)

Must have one of this :-)

Compulsive buying is my thing aswell, especially with tech gadgets hehehe

A steemit unboxing review?
I like it a lot.
Great formatting and an interesting read.

Why did you pick the ledger over the seemingly 'popular' trezor (and the other options, for that matter)?

I pre-ordered a month or more ago and already have the Nano Unplugged (NFC card) from Ledger. Trezor didn't have a release date back then.

Awesome. I've got a TREZOR on backorder. I might do an unboxing myself. :)

Thanks @repholder for this great write up. Would love to see more tech reviews like this on Steemit.

Thanks allyourbase. I will try my best with any new gadgets I get.

Thanks for the unboxing ! I've been waiting for somone to do this. I didn't pre-order just incase there were any bugs with the first batch.

I just put my order in at Amazon. Also really glad that Ledger supports both ETH and ETC. Was starting to worry about ETC wallets with all this price action.

Firmware is upgradeable so no biggy IMO if you pre-order. Yeah there's an option on the App to choose which chain you want. Also beats needing to sync both chain or messing up things in Mist.

Don't forget it can also be used as a FIDO key for secure authentication. https://fidoalliance.org/fido-1-0-specifications-published-and-final/

This can be handy especially for SSH authentication to development environment.

Correct, thanks for mentioning this I forgot!

Great review there @repholder !
Is it possible to use a second password on the wallet page/software provided by ledger nano?

Let me mess around a little bit more to find out. But I think it's a single password on the device (whenever you plug-in plug-out)

same as the Trezor then I guess, but the Trezor got 6. Its a bit weak in my opinion.. if physical theft of the device would occur that 4 pin is to easy to crack.

oh great device, howmuch it cost?

69.60EUR + Shipping

ouch , but I think it is good investment

i need one for my etc

If you checked the screenshot here

There's a ETH or ETC option at the bottom

That is really cool that it does more than just BTC!

Thanks for documenting your experience. The Ledger seems like a high quality device. If I hadn't already ordered a TREZOR when I read this review, it might have made my decision a bit harder.

My TREZOR arrived yesterday, and I posted about the setup here:

https://steemit.com/security/@bacchist/steemit-s-first-trezor-paid-for-with-steem-dollars

Great device ;)

That looks very interesting, thank you for sharing this :)
Maybe you can learn something from my mistakes:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@lorddominik007/trading-done-wrong-see-my-mistakes-so-you-don-t-have-to-see-yours

Thanks for sharing this @repholder!

This is the greatest innovation since sliced bread, that's if it's as secure as it claims.

And if it is that secure, please take my money now!

Just saw this, I'm seriously thinking about buying one of these! Great post! Thanks for the info!

Good job, a very nice detailed review! I also recently purchased the Nano S. It seems to be working as advertised. Shortly after purchasing it, I decided to test out the seed recovery mechanism. You can see the details in my blog: Testing Recovery of a Hierarchical Deterministic (HD) Hardware Cryptocurrency Wallet.

Wondering if you can explain more about the Ledger Wallet Nano S Here.... Please read this blog and help a number of us out that are wondering about the price differences https://steemit.com/cryptocurrencies/@wvm/ledger-wallets-a-conversation-among-steemians

Keep up the great work @repholder
Upvoted