Take a moment and confirm your accounts authorities

in #security3 years ago

image.png

From time to time you should review posting authorities you have authorized on your account.

You can easily view these on hiveblocks under your account, for example https://hiveblocks.com/@themarkymark shows:

As you can see I do not have that many. I do not like to give posting authority unless I trust a dApp and I know I am actively using it.

Did you know you can easily review and change your authorities in Peakd?

Just go to Keys & Permissions

Then click Authorities

Here you can remove any authorities you are no longer using.

You can also grant new authorities here as well.

This is the easiest way available to revoke authorities and I appreciate @peakd added this functionality that many don't even know about. I always had to hunt down the hivesigner link to show people how to revoke authorities easily.

While here, why don't you also check your recovery account and make sure it is no longer set to Steem. You won't have any help from Justin Sun trying to recover your account on Hive.

It is a good idea to do a quick check from time to time to remove stale authorities granted to other parties. Anyone with your posting authority has the ability to vote and create and edit content on your account. While it is a secure way to grant these permissions, it should not be done without caution.

Be safe!


Securely chat with me on Keybase

Why you should vote me as witness

Sort:  

Thank you for thr reminder. Didn't know I could do it through Peakd!

I did not have too many, but removed some I don't think I need. I can always re-authorise them if necessary. @Peakd has a great set of features.

Very informative and an important reminder and I did not know that was on Peakd! Thanks Marky, going to check and see mine, I probably have loads!

I never noticed this could be done in Peakd, so thanks for this post, learned something new :)

Good reminder to remove unused authorities. Removed steempeak since it's superseded with @peakd.

Nice one, I had about 40, a lot from the STEEM days. Removing most of them now.

Good reminder to check again, thanks!

thanks for the reminder

Thank you for this, I am also reviewing my authorities.

My recovery account is set to steem, what would be a good account to set it to??

When I try to remove an authority, Keychain tells me "missing active authority" I see I cannot even vote from PeakD, then I get the same message, in the past it worked fine??

thanks for the reminder, I just removed steempeak and partiko from there.

Thanks for the reminder! I had a bunch of dapps in there that are either dead or from before the hardfork.

Cheers,
NL

Had to drop a few things as well.

Good Reminder, I was not knowing that we can do it from Peakd. Revoked a few.

Thank you for the reminder, used and reviewed. Down to only one authority for now.

This was handy thank you!

I actually have a spanish version of this i did a while back, peakd does an awesome job at making easy all security related settings for the users.

Thank you for security message!

Thank you for pointing that out! Kicked half of it :D

I often glance at that list on HiveBlocks and think to myself that I don't use all of them and I should figure out how to remove them, and then I get distracted and the process repeats itself. Thank you for pointing the feature out on PeakD. 😅