How To Be A Listener

in #selfhelp6 years ago

RULE NUMBER ONE
When dealing with people who are in need of attention and comfort, never ever, I repeat, NEVER EVER interrupt them when they're pouring their hearts out. Don't even bother giving comments or advices because they seriously do not need to hear them.


MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCES
I used to be a vocal and take no bull-shits kinda person. I gave them a piece of my mind when my friends bemoaned and explained to me what happened. Or I would tell them to get their shits together. I'll be like, get over it! It's not the end of the world!

After many dealings and lotsa readings, I realized what a mistake I've been making.

In a world full of expectations and demands, it is not difficult to fall and drown. Truth is, the amount of stress we have to face daily slowly takes its toll on us without us realizing. Sometimes, they don't even know they are losing it. While they think they have a full grasp of life, stress and their messed up senses are weighing them. Life, happiness and contentment seem to be slipping through their fingers and one unforeseen or unfortunate will destroy them. (Okay, maybe destroy is a lil too exaggerating.)

I never understood and glad I never will how stress can do to someone. Some of my close friends becomes so emotionally challenged they get anxiety/panic attacks. If they ever call you, please, just listen to them.

TIPS ON HOW YOU SHOULD REACT

  1. Do not interrupt them
  2. STAY CALM! Or ya gonna make it worse
  3. Empathize but don't start about your own struggles
  4. Be patient, I learned this the hard way
  5. You can ask questions like "What do you think has caused you to feel anxious?"
  6. Pray for him/her, build his/her faith that he/she will get through it (typically for Christians)

While there are more ways to apply but it really depends on how well you know the person and his/her situation. While I hope you will not ever have to go through this, these tips may be put into good use someday.


Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness