How to make a URL that prompts the user to review your Google Business page

in #seo6 years ago

Here's a quick tip for anyone that's been wanting to prompt your visitors/customers/members to review your business on Google maps.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but there's no official documentation on how to link to your Google business page and automatically get the review box to open.

It used to be possible in an old version where there was a URL parameter name review or something that would open up the box. But with the new format, it's unclear what kind of data that is being encoded into the URL.

Unclear whats in the URL

I just found a way

Today as I was reading my Local Guide email from Google, it suddenly struck me that they're doing just that: linking to the business and automatically opening the review box. So I checked the URL and found this.

Local guides automatically opening review

There's something interesting there. An id that we never refer to when linking to our business from Google Maps or when you go to Google My Business

So I looked up where I could find it, and you can find your own id if you go to your Google Maps listing and inspect the "review button". Notice the highlighted id string.

Business ID

Now, take that ID and append it to the URL: http://search.google.com/local/writereview?placeid=[put your id here]

In the case of my business the URL is: http://search.google.com/local/writereview?placeid=ChIJJxmocr9B0i0RfU4_C7mDQxk

There you go. That's how you prompt someone to review your business

Sort:  

Congratulations @dennisalund! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!