You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canonical links of Hive posts and duplicate content

in #seo4 years ago

You don't get it, do you? Everything happening here is very intentional, with the ultimate goal of banking money. Your long efforts, whatever expertise in SEO you might have, will be discarded. They know what they are doing, they just want peakd.com to accumulate google juice. They want UIs not conforming to their standard to be downvoted and judged. They want other people to work for them.

Yes yes.

Look, I don't begrudge anyone being a moneygrubbing bastard. I like money myself. I don't even mind that there is some emergent behavioral correlation.

They don't care about me. It's one of my strongest powers.

Frankly, they'll do whatever they want to do no matter what I say. I have been resigned to that fact for many, many years. The Hive split and the obvious legal and ethical problems created by it – that just reaffirmed that whatever I may be, it's probably not what they want around.

But, in turn, I get to be the guy that walks behind the Roman Emperor and whisper, "you are but a man" in his ear.

@holger80 is a fine programmer. Whatever else he may be, whatever else he may be involved in – and I want to be clear, I'm not judging or deciding, I'm just observing – he has put together some really impressive tools and systems in the past which have given more power to individuals in the blockchain ecosystem. I appreciate that.

So I'm just pointing out, "this is a bad idea." It's a bad idea because it violates some of the underlying tenets that the Steem blockchain was supposedly established to support, it's a bad idea because it violates some of the central tenets that Hive was supposed to be upholding when it split to go its own way, and it's just a bad idea because it doesn't actually reflect (in the original way that it was formulated) the actual definition of "canonical links."

They can and will do anything they want to. Just like everybody else.

But I get to tell them what I think. For the moment. Until someone decides either I need a bot chasing me around downvoting all of my content or enough witnesses decide I'm enough of a thorn in their side to revoke my whole account – because both of those are things that we have seen happen and were warned about.

Until then… I guess I'll just bumble along.

Sort:  
Loading...