How to Give Instructions That Boost Productivity and Morale

in #service7 years ago

whiteshirt.jpg

I'm sure you have learned that vague instructions lead to confusion, frustration, and substandard performance.

I speak from experience. During my twenty years in management, there were many times I thought I had done exactly what my supervisor wanted--only to learn that I had misunderstood the instructions, despite referring to them frequently throughout a project.

I admit, too, that employees who reported to me faced the same situation. Every now and then, I'd hear:

"But Bill, I just didn't understand what you wanted me to do."

EXAMPLE OF POOR INSTRUCTION
Imagine that your boss told you, "I want you to give me a thorough report on our company's customer service. Get that done soon."

service-1992961_640.jpg
Now look at what's wrong with this assigment.

Note that just mentioning the topic wasn't sufficient. Your manager needed to say exactly what aspects of customer service you are to cover. Web site? Handling irate customers? Refund policy? New employee training? Employee handbook?

Next, your manager should identify the exact target date/time for your deadline. Soon could mean two days later or two weeks from now.

And certainly you want to know what thorough means. Two page report? Questionnaire for every employee? Confidential interviews with department heads?

ADDITIONAL TIPS ABOUT INSTRUCTIONS
Note these additional tips that will help you give instructions that get the best results--and reduce confusion and decline in morale:

--Write the instructions as well as saying them.

--Ask employees torestate the instructions to you as they understand them.

--Give examples. "Here are the guidelines we used last year for assessing the company's customer service. They will help you plan the process."

--Encourage questions. "I know this assignment is clear to me, but that doesn't necessarily mean you understand what I'm after. So ask any questions you have about what's expected."

--Conduct an in-process checkup. "Arnold, we've reached the halfway point of the project. Tell me what action you understand you are to take from here to the end of the month."

TIME WELL SPENT

deadline-stopwatch-2636259_640.jpg

Yes, making sure your employees understand your instructions accurately takes time--but you'll find the time well spent, because they do the job quicker, better, and with stronger morale.

SUGGESTION: Share these instruction recommendations with your supervisors, and ask for their reactions at your next staff meeting.

iocenters-2673316_640.jpg

UPVOTE AND RESTEEM
If you found these guidelines for giving instructions useful, I'll be very grateful for your Upvote and Resteem.

Thanks for taking your Steemit time to visit with me today!

Photos other than my own came from Pixabay.