The Seven Day Beer Challenge #1 : Kirin Ichiban

in #sevendaybeerchallenge6 years ago (edited)

The challenge

As you can probably guess from the title, I need to drink seven beers in seven days. The challenge itself should be fun but I also need to post about it (obviously). I was nominated by @elliotjgardner in this post. You should definitely check out his beer challenge posts. He makes cool videos of the beer.

The plan

I don't really know much about beer so I won't be able to give any meaningful reviews. In fact, I wouldn't even know how to choose a good beer. So instead, I'll just be picking beers with interesting looking bottles. This will hopefully add to the fun as I'll have no idea what kind of beer I'll be picking up.

Day 1

For my first beer, I chose Kirin Ichiban. It's a Japanese beer and when I saw it I just had to get it. The bottle isn't particularly interesting but I lived in Japan for 2 years so the country has a special place in my heart.

kirin_beer.jpeg

The actual beer though is from Germany so it's just licensed from Japan. Of course, I only noticed this after buying it. According to the website:

KIRIN ICHIBAN is brewed from only malt, hops and water. Unlike other beers, only the first press of the wort is used. That´s why it´s called ICHIBAN - meaning “first” and “best” in Japanese.
“Ichiban Shibori” is a unique method of brewing beer at its purest from a single pure ingredient:
100% malt. This one–and–only technique gives KIRIN ICHIBAN a unique taste and flavor found nowhere else in the world.

So how about the taste?

kirin_beer_open.jpeg

Meh. A bit of a disappointment, actually. It's a very light and mild taste. It tastes a bit watery even. But like I said, I don't know much about beer. Anyway, hopefully I'll have better luck tomorrow.

By the way, here are the rules of the challenge:

  • You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
  • The beer must be something you have never tasted before
  • You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
  • Nominate someone every day
  • If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink
  • Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Today, I nominate @galenkp. I hope you you drink beer, mate, because @tarazkp doesn't. :)


The first photo was taken on our balcony's ledge. It was late afternoon with the sun behind the bottle.

The second photo was just on the coffee table. I think it would've been better with a white background.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adigitalife from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 77 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig