I dress myself with shadows

in #shadow7 years ago

Shadows cast by objects contain potentially useful information about the location of these objects in the scene as well as their surface reflectance. However, before the visual system can use this information, it has to solve the shadow correspondence problem, that is to match the objects with their respective shadows.
In the first experiment, it is shown that the estimate of the light source position is affected by a gradual luminance ramp added to the image.
In the second experiment, it is shown that observers process impossible shadow images as if they ignored the local features of the objects.
All together, the results suggest that the visual system solves the shadow correspondence problem by relying on a coarse representation of the scene.
IMG_0690.JPG
IMG_0712.JPG
IMG_0713.JPG
IMG_0714.JPG
IMG_0716.JPG
IMG_0718.JPG
IMG_0720.JPG
IMG_0719.JPG

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://mamassian.free.fr/papers/mamassian04.pdf

Nice Photos!

Thank you for the support !

Hi!!! A wonderful post))) I will support you! I also collect friends. I follow you, you can also follow me, and you will get good content from me) I will be happy for our friendship)))

Sounds good to me, nice to meet you Liza! I am new on steem :)