DPW: Denver, Colorado 2019 Pow Wow

in #share2steem5 years ago (edited)





Just in case you are not Native American and have not seen what we do, this is setting up for Grand Entry and in honor of all modern day warriors, those who served in the military walk first. It is to not only honor those from today but the generations from before us. As I look upon my people, and the announcer says “We are One,” I get a bit choked up thinking how hard many tried to destroy us, yet we survived and contribute to thrive. Grand Entry is a welcoming, singing, dancing, and celebration of the beginning of Pow Wow ceremony. This also marks the entry for dancers in competition and a reminder to not be late! I will post a video of the ceremony drum and singers soon (when I get it uploaded ... Yeeeee) A’oo, Eagle Spirit #share2steem #community #steemit #art #culture #nativeamerican #denver #colorado #powwow #powwow2019



eag1espirit


Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

That looks like it was a really cool time! I attended a Plains Cree pow wow ceremony, not the actual pow wow but the ceremony once years ago. Was an amazing display! I'm not Cree, and grew around the Dakota Nation, even though I'm as white as a polar bear, but not nearly as hairy. I feel at home at the White Cap Dakota.

Hey FE!! Miss ya man!! Yes it was a great time, it was like goin to church 🙏🏼

Such strong spirits! What a wonderful way to honor the warriors by having them lead in the grand entry!
Thanks for sharing!

Sweet porters thank you for stopping by! Miss you tons and hope you are well. 🤗

Aha aho.

Hey Spoz!! Miss ya meng

Hi @eaglespirit!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.851 which ranks you at #1322 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #174.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Beautiful and moving indeed...

My maternal grandparents were both Cherokee... my mother and father separated when I was young, so I never got to meet my grandparents, but did see many pictures of them. I was also told my grandmother was a Shaman woman... but again; I can only go on what I was told growing up. I do however feel a connection between many peoples as well as Mother Earth and God...

Saw your post about achieving dolphinhood and wanted to stop in and say hello!!