Share My World: Day 6- Kayaking the Flathead River

in #sharemyworld4 years ago (edited)

Had a great day on the river.
Unfortunately my camera was submerged so the pictures for this post are from Jodi's camera.

Even though the pictures are not mine, I still want to post about this day and the great time we had.

Yes the water was that clear!
Jodi and I had fun collecting cool rocks!



@jarvie and I flipped. It was very cold and a bit scary till I got hold of the boat. Then I was just fine. I was of course very sad about my phone. Grateful I didn't take in my DSLR.

Since we were already wet @jarvie and I decided to go cliff jumping!

Views of the river

Lunch break

What a great day on the Flathead River

Share My World Series

2020
Share My World: Crater Lake in the snow
Share My World: Snowmobiling in Winter Park, Colorado
Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19
All the posts for April Trip to Utah
All the posts for Favorites of May Southern Utah Trip

Glacier National Park, Montana Trip
Share My World: Day 1- Going to the Sun Road
Share My World: Day 2- Trail of Cedars Nature Trail Hike
Share My World: Day 2 Avalanche Lake Hike
Share My World: Day 2 Kayaking Hungry Horse Reservoir
Share My World: Day 3 Bowman Lake
Share My World: Day 4- Going to the Sun Road

All the 2019 posts are here My 2019 Steem Journey
All the 2018 posts are here My Year Journey on Steem

Sort:  

Great photos but...Oh no, your phone! Tragic.

I lost both my phones only a few months ago, iPhone X and Samsung S9 (work and home phone), stolen almost right underneath my eyes! Was a monumental pain in the ass! Both were replaced of course, and I did ok as I got upgraded, but everything was in those phones...Pain in the ass!.

Anyway, this looks like something I'd like to do. We kayak a lot but our locations are different, it's Australia after all. Great little post here, and I'm sorry it cost you your phone.

Yes, I am so glad Jodi took so many pictures and some fun videos.

That is terrible that you lost both your phones. My photos were uploaded to the cloud and that was my biggest concern cause it was toward the end of this trip. After I knew that I enjoyed myself and took pictures with the Nikon.

I'm not one to leave photos on my phones, some of the cloud maybe but that's about it. I regularly clear them off, just in case. But I was devo about losing the phones. (Devo is Australian slang for devastated.) I'm so glad you didn't have your big-rig in that canoe, the Nikon.

People, most people, just don't understand the northwestern rivers. Yes, they are that clear. Even the Snake and the Columbia are remarkably clear and clean.

It's just a marvelous looking day. I don't want to be the 'I told you so' guy, but I put my phone in a sandwich bag before I hit the river. Just in case :)

Looking at your post again makes me just jealous. Well, not really jealous, but I'd really like to be there...

Tom, yes making the post make me want to be there too! Yes, and even if it is a calm river protect your phone.

I've always had Montana on my hit list...I've never seen it look bad. One day I might get there.

It's got some really cool spots, no doubt about it. Big Sky Country. Go in June when everybody is cutting the sweet grass in the east. The smell is intense and invigorating...

I'd like to get on a bike and do some riding but it's more likely a car road-trip would happen. I think it would be cool to meander around at my own leisure, stopping when and where we wanted to, exploring and all.

One of my secrets? I have an old beater GPS that lives between the handlebars. I only use it to find gas and get out of a hopelessly lost situation. I have found some of the coolest things ever when hopelessly lost.

I'm a big fan of paper maps. I look at them over breakfast and try to remember what turns I want to take when. Never works out...

That's what I'm talking about...Just following the road to wherever it leads, stopping when you need to, gassing when you need to...Freedom!

That's the real answer, and the way I try to travel. I almost always have someplace to be sometime, but I make sure to leave plenty of air in that schedule. And generally end up going like hell to be where I said I'd be.

When I met DV in Las Vegas I was way north and east of there. I had plenty of time to take a leisurely ride and rest up before I met them at 8:00 pm. Then I saw the freeway exit that said US 191 Flaming Gorge and I went :) I was just about used up when I found them....

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I thought it was just the rocks and pebbles, then I saw the ripples of water when I looked closer!!!

I know incredible how clear it was. It was a bit surreal to be kayaking on the water and being able to see the rocks pass under you.

I'm a water taster, not by profession, by OCDness...Seriously, I cannot go somewhere like this without having a taste to satisfy my curiosity. I've tasted some quality h2o around the world and know it when I see it...I think this would be like nectar of the gods! Lol.

Ha ha. I didn't even think of doing that but I bet you are right. This would be amazing water. Next time for sure!

Water tasting is an art and one reserved for those h20 connoisseurs of only the highest of standards. I'm sure you would qualify as one, and once you do...Well, you'll wonder where water tasting was all your life! @ladybug146 is a water taster also...One of the greatest in fact.

I am very excited to find a new hobby and talent. I think I will be very good at it. I am very particular about the water I drink so finding super great fresh water would be awesome! Oh while we are on the subject I am thinking about getting a Berkey. I want good water without having to buy it all the time.

Berkey's are pretty good, we have them here too.

At home we have a filter tap fitted on our sink in the kitchen, the main tap, so all of our water is filtered and quite tasty. Here it's a fairly standard thing a our water quality is a bit dubious. We used to use filter jugs but I drink around 3 litres of water a day so keeping them filled was an issue. With the filter tap it's a simply press of the butting and we're drinking lovely filtered water.

Oh Hey! I heard there was a water taster convention on this post! My notification didn't show up until now tho? I don't taste lake water...that's shady, only ground water, waterfalls and glaciers, once in the lake it's susceptible to a lot of bacteria.

Beautiful photos & beautiful lake or river! I like all the different pebbles in the lake, I would be sitting in there picking pebbles like a weirdo!

Water tasters (and pebble pickers) unite!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #988.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Oh my goodness, how fun!!! I've been whitewater rafting, but have yet to try my hand at kayaking.