Ulog 6| Academic Integrity

in #sharing6 years ago

In the Ulog today, I want to try something different. And maybe, I will change my ulog's focus. I have to say that basically, every day is the same to me ~~~

Integrity

I like the word "Integrity", about its pronunciation and meaning. It means the something related to morality and honesty. In psychology, according to Erikson's Human Development Theory, there is a stage which begins at approximate 65 and ends at death. This is the moment that we review our life and experience the feelings of ego integrity or despair.

Academic Integrity

Screen Shot 2018-07-28 at 9.44.56 pm.png
https://goo.gl/h5BF1S
If you wanna survive when studying abroad, you need to be careful with this. University staffs take this seriously. This topic seems to be very unfamiliar with Asian students. In a simple term, I define it as do not violate plagiarism.
There are more than just about taking source without citations or references.

Plagiarism

Firstly, for every information taken from books, journals, news... have to be cited. If it is a direct quote, the quotation mark is needed (" "). Plagiarism is just one piece in the big cake.

Cheat sheet

newspring.blog.hero.discipline.cheating_1700_850_90_c1.jpg
https://goo.gl/ThWtEq
Secondly, exam cheating is counted on academic integrity as well. After studying in Australia, I learn the word "red-handed". I wonder why they don't use "black-handed" instead. Maybe, some religious issue. I don't know.

Contract cheating

Thirdly, don't ask someone to do your articles. It is called contract cheating. This service is quite expensive, looks professional and error-free. Don't worry. Lecturer and tutor will figure out. They do compare your paper with the previous one. My lecturer once told me a story. An Asian girl that he knows used this service when she studied Bachelor at University of Melbourne. Everything seems okay. No one had recognised, she got the high mark. After years, after she finished her Master degree, the University recognised her action in the past. They refused to offer her Master Certificate and also took back her Bachelor degree. Just one mistake, all of the effort and money are destroyed.
Screen Shot 2018-07-28 at 10.13.25 pm.png

Fabrication

Screen Shot 2018-07-28 at 10.17.29 pm.png
https://flo.flinders.edu.au/mod/lesson/view.php?id=1137499&pageid=11382
The fourth issue is Fabrication - using false data for your research or papers. I think this one happens when one study PhD or higher education. Sometimes, data and actual evidence are not correlated with what you are expected.
Finally, it is collusion. This is quite confusing. One violates this when having a group of students do an assessment which is expected to do individually. However, if you guys cooperate to review for an exam, it will be fine.

It is all for today ~~~
I'm trying to summarise all of information based on my knowledge. You guys can look for more information below!!!
Source: http://www.flinders.edu.au/academicintegrity/
For more information: https://goo.gl/MzE2T1

Sort:  

Hi @oanhpham, you have received an upvote from oanhpham. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations.

Nice article sis. I hadn't known much about plagiarism till I got my first job as a copy writer. They were strict on that and some dudes in my team lost all their effort by just a little plagiarism.

Me too, at first, University staffs keep telling me about negative consequences!!! It puts a lot of pressures to me