You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Profiling and Dynamic Pricing, How does your social media account play a role?

in #shopping7 years ago

Alot of people think that services like facebook and other similar services are free... these companies are selling your private info. There is no free lunch.

Sort:  

Totally agree. Our personal identifiable information is a product to them, therefore we are their business to make money.

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you.

but hey! All I have to do is upload my photo ID, my real name, phone number, address, mothers maiden name, a copy of my family crest, a DNA sample, a tissue sample from my first born, let them track me across the internet, monitor my surfing, manipulate my newsfeed (and by extension, my emotions) and then they let me reconnect with people I don't like and show them pictures of the food I've eaten. Wünderbar!

Not accurate. Facebook is protecting information the collected and extracted from your online behaviour like a Tiger is protecting its cubs.

But they do sell your information via ad profiling. If you go to FB and just start an ad campaign for fun, you will see that you can profile ads in great detail by gender, income bracket, gender, state, city, preferences, hobbies, sexual orientation, etc.

And then you pay for the ad campaign. FB is the worst of them all. Twitter is also profiling, but to the same extent (they are also making far less money than FB).

Google is also collecting data like there is no tomorrow, but you can escape them by using DuckDuckGo for example.

Amazon is also collecting informations to improve shopping recommendations, but their algorithms are confused easily.

Netflix is collecting, but is also confused easily if more than one user is using the same account and same persona. Netflix's content profiling is really cool (they do analyse content).