Short Form Content Is Contnet

in #short3 years ago

It doesn't matter how long content is. If it interests someone, it is content. If you think its getting rewarded too much, USE YOUR DOWNVOTE to remove rewards from it. Use this post to explore downvotes if you haven't already done so. I won't say anything. You get to control where hive rewards are allocated with your stake and downvoting removes some of the allocation.

Sort:  

People think of up votes and down votes the wrong way. An upvote doesn't mean "I like this post", it means "i think this post is worth more". A downvote doesn't mean "I hate this post", it means "I think this post is worth less". To me, a short post (like a tweet) has value if it contains original art, photography, video or stimulates interesting discussion.

stimulates interesting discussion

Exactly this. I feel like a lot more people are willing to respond to short content since it's not much to digest. Any content that gets people to engage(like this one did) is worth so much more than longer form garbage with 0 replies.

I should probably start doing this also, currently my downvotes are all fighting reward farming via a downvote trail, might change the min VP so I have more downvote power left over.

I'm conflicted, because I like the message, but I also like that you are seeking to normalize downvotes. 1% it is! LOL

untitled.gif

I don't think downvotes are necessarily bad. There's tons of content out there which I feel is over rewarded especially with bots which go unmonitored(voting bots aren't bad, I run one, but I also take a look at the votes after they have been cast), and one way of brining them down to earth is with a downvote. Lots of people go complaining when they get a single downvote, but that shouldn't discourage them.

I wrote this more as a response to this commend from hivewatcher: https://hivel.ink/photography/@hivewatcher/qrb5tr. I'd rather we as the community use downvotes to remove rewards where needed so we don't need to have a group be the only one who does it and they get all the praise and hate.

Oh, I'm with you 100%. People could look on the positive side, that those potential rewards are being sent back to the pool with the possibility of going to someone who's being under-rewarded.

But greed gets to them. Most people seem to see a number, and believe they are entitled to that much and down voters are taking it away. Not going to say I wasn't like that. I got pissed at the first major downvote I got and honestly yea, I see now that it was fully deserved.

lol

Did you self downvote a comment? LOL.

Edit: I see that you also self upvoted the comment.

it's all about the meta game

What a great way to encourage engagement! This is like an internet version of tug-o-war haha!
I’m glad that I can create short form content in the comments.. kinda like playing poker, smoking & jokin in the trenches haha! Thought you’d enjoy this meme cheese
C541FB17-07F5-4EFC-8EE6-B9EED591D579.jpeg