Remember Us

in #shortstory2 years ago

d04f36e98f94c26a185edde61c687886.jpg

Photo retrieved from Pinterest

Remember Us
I have a girlfriend named Raine. She's beautiful, respectful and God fearing. We've been together since high school so, it's been a very long time.

Today marks our 8th Anniversary and I plan to surprise her by proposing because it's her dream to wear a wedding gown and walk down the aisle of the church, with me of course.

"Ferrer my man, I'm sure this is going to be the best day of your life. Except for the wedding and the honeymoon!" Hiro laughed and looked at me with a wink.

"Shut up Hiro, will you just help me here so we can finish this! I'm sure Raine will finish her work in no time" I scolded him.

"Alright, I'm sorry. By the way, where is your twin brother? Felix?"

"I don't know either, maybe he's just wandering off the streets again. I don't know where he's at or where he's going" I said and started preparing the surprise for Raine.

~
After some time we finished everything and the surprise was ready. I have memorized the things that I will say. I'm sure Raine will love this.

"We'll go first Ferrer okay? good luck on your proposal! You can do it, don't be nervous!" Hiro said with a goodbye

"Alright man, thanks for helping me. I'll help you soon when you need me. Thanks, take care on your way home!"

After they left, I messaged Raine to go to this place. I waited thirty minutes and she wasn't here yet so I bothered to call her but she won't answer her phone.

That's the time when I got nervous but I stayed calm because maybe she was still doing something or maybe she was fixing things.

After a few hours she was still not here, it was ten o'clock at night but why isn't she here yet? Tried to call her again but no one really answers. Not until my twin's name appeared on my cellphone screen.

Ugh, Why is he calling now?

"Felix stop, not now I'm still looking for Rai-"

"Raine is here at the hospital! She got into an accident and got hit by a car on the way there! Hurry up!"

I was stunned and can't speak by what I heard. I didn't think twice and quickly drove my car to the said hospital.

~
When I arrived at the hospital, I was immediately greeted by my twin, Felix.

"What happened!? Why now!? It's my fault isn't it, if I had picked her up this wouldn't have happened!" I yelled punching my chest because of the pain I was feeling.

"Ferrer, no one liked what happened. It's not your fault, don't blame yourself" Felix worriedly said and calmed me down

The Doctor came out of Raine's ward and I immediately stood up and walked towards him.

"D-doc, how is my girlfriend doing? Is she okay?" I asked nervously

"Her condition is fine now, sir, but she hit her head hard and it was so bad that she can't wake up. I'm sorry, sir, but the patient is on comatose," the doctor said sadly and walked away.

Raine has been in comatose for five years and I have been and still blaming myself for what happened. If only I had thought about it at that time and picked him up. If only-


"You look beautiful in what you're wearing, it suits you perfectly!" Hiro proclaimed. oh my gosh, this crazy guy is here again.

"Of course it suits me, I'm handsome" I said with a wink

"Man don't you think it became so windy? Like can't you feel the winds' disagreement? You look like a fool HAHAHAHA"

I was about to hit him when my twin Felix suddenly arrived.

"Come on, we're going to be late, the bride is ready," he said

"It's Hiro's fault, come on, I don't want to be late for the wedding"

We settled into our seats and the piano began to play. They slowly opened the door of the church and I saw the most beautiful angel in my life, Raine. She looks beautiful in what she's wearing, that's what she chose to wear when I told her to choose between the dresses.

I looked at her in the eye and she looked at me too. She was getting closer and closer and I didn't realize that my tears were falling. After she looked at me, she stopped and smiled at me. I smiled back at her and I nodded. She continued to walk towards my twin brother, his true groom.

Yes, Raine woke up from the coma but she doesn't remember me. What she knows is Felix, who is my twin brother is her boyfriend. I didn't want to force myself and meddle into their relationship because I also saw that as time went on, Felix was also falling in love with her. Yes, I love Raine but how can I fight for my right if my twin brother is my rival and the only one she remembers is him?

She did wake up, but she woke up remembering someone else. "She remembered me, but she didn't remember us."


received_1542389439533371.jpeg

@drenzelleqt

A born to be leader woman who wants to make the world a better place by writing and sharing her stories. Hi everyone, naimbag nga aldaw. Her name is Drenzelle, a senior highschool student in BSBT who has a dream to be a lawyer someday. She lives in Baguio City, Philippines and is a proud Igorot. She likes playing instruments like guitars, lyre and piano. She also likes editing and vlogging. Drenzelle likes to listen to Kpop and her top 3 favorite bands are Itzy, Enhypen and Stray Kids. She likes to read different kinds of books like novels, fictions, non-fiction and more. Her favorite sport is table tennis, she won once on the Division level and with a ranking of 3rd place.

Drenzelle is a 17 year old girl who's turning 18 on April 2023, cool right? She also loves playing mobile games like ml, codm, and minecraft with her friends @cronus.arthfael and honey. Thanks to cronus who introduced her to writing! Everyone is welcome to communicate with the author, thank you!

Sort:  

Congratulations @drenzelleqt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@angelsands Your comment contains a link that is on my blacklists   ❗ ❗ ❗ 1 2 3

@drenzelleqt do NOT click on the link above in their comment.

Reason: PHISHING
Link: "altlanding.glitch.me*"     => DO NOT CLICK   ❗



More info: https://hive.blog/hive/@keys-defender/new-feature-phishing-detection-and-auto-reply


Comment 10% downvoted to make it less visible.
This message is self-voted to be more visible among others.