You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Showcase-Sunday: The Australian Light Horse

in #showcase-sunday5 years ago

I noticed the rifle - I have SMLE .303 rifle which saw service in WW1 and the lever action stuck out to me in the image. Having said that maybe the photo was taken the day he got his plume, at home, and that's the rifle that came to hand? Who knows? Unlikely he would have gone to war with it I think.

Planning to do a post about my .303. I have the bayonet and all the numbers match too. Fired it a few times as well. She's a beauty. Scratched and dented but works a charm.

If you get the chance get to the WF. My sis went to Gallipoli, I haven't been yet.

Sort:  

Not been to Gallipoli and Beersheba is on my bucket list too as I had a great uncle served in both campaigns. My Grandfather signed up in Maryborough QLD and I believe the photo was taken then. I know I saw a display in WA about the light horse and they initially had a lever action rifle but were issued the standard weapons when they shipped out. Makes sense from a logistic point.

Agree, doesn't make a lot of sense for one unit to be using non-standardised weapons.