Showcase Sunday: Lots of Portraits

in #showcase-sunday5 years ago

It's that time of the week again. For anyone late to the party #showcase-sunday is an initiative started by @nonameslefttouse where we gather some long buried content to showcase (hopefully) to new sets of eyes. I thought a lot this week about what I would showcase this time around. If you follow me you know I kind of go through phases. Right now I'm in a 3D effects phase, but there has previously been plenty of portrait phases.

So for my showcase today, I'll be sharing a selection of some of the portrait paintings I've shared on Steem. In the spirit of #showcase-sunday, at least how I've been doing it, this will be a mega post. ie I'm not trying to make it short and sweet, I'm making it something you can sit a scroll through for a hot minute, where even if you've seen most of these, maybe there's a few you missed. So get your scroll wheel oiled up and enjoy.

Mod_12_Portrait.jpg

Detail-1.jpg

Mod_12_Portrait.gif

This is probably one of my favorites. This was a class demo for a digital painting class that I teach and in my department they tell us to record our demos, but I usually forget. This time I didn't so you can see a timelapse of the painting in the video above.

cMiddleton_GAM_233_01_Mod_12_1.jpg

cMiddleton_GAM_233_01_Mod_13.jpg

These two are from my very first post on Steem in Feb of 2018. I'd been lurking for a month before I went ahead and made my first post. I thought for sure I'd be one of those people on the front page making $300-$400 per post, lol. I didn't know what bid-bots were at the time, so I had no idea everyone there had paid to be there. That was a bit of a downer when I realized that, but I just kept Steemin along.

Okay, most of the rest of these don't have an anecdote to go along with them so this is the rapid fire portion of this post.

upDo.jpg

upDo_detail_01.jpg

Karis_Hardhome.jpg

Karis_Hardhome_detail_01.jpg

Just kidding, this one does. This is a character from the show formerly known as the best show ever made, currently known as the biggest disappointment ever made Game of Thrones. Her name was Karis and I thought she was a badass, but she died after like one or two episodes so I painted this so she could live on :p

Okay, back to portrait machine gun mode.

AfricanGuy.jpg

detail_02.jpg

detail_01.jpg

PorGuy.jpg

cMiddleton_Mod_12(Sub_Michael).gif

cMiddleton_Mod_12-(1).gif

ebony2.jpg

Detail_01.jpg

Detail_02.jpg

cMiddleton_GAM_233_01_Mod_14.jpg

detail_01.jpg

detail_02.jpg

cMiddleton_Mod_13.jpg

dETAIL-1.jpg

This painting earned $0.05 when I originally posted it. I was raised on the hard streets of #oldsteem. If you're in that group that feels like they're under rewarded, I feel you, been there.

baldGirl.jpg

baldGirl.gif

BW_portrait.jpg

2018-03-30 13-08-44 (0-08-59-22).jpg

I recorded the process for this drawing, but Dtube deleted it because I wasn't cool enough. :p

6itjabdjib.jpg

toj59pcyzq.jpg

FemQS_Fin.jpg

ntopaz-image-1

FemQS.gif

395znr3pe3.jpg

bwlbkrmdra.jpg

tjgqwafjg8.jpg

vhktjzemvg.gif

Mama5.jpg

Mama5.gif

Mothers Day painting of my Mom <3

mvxdc6zqqx.jpg

myd6ng2s33.jpg

hfbrzhv1uk.gif

loie1b0i3a.jpg

aacoikicoo.gif

83dc6yw5vx.jpg

gbbhw2xfwt.jpg

ccd8rqmcwq.gif

mofduwebvl.jpg

cMiddleton_GAM_233_02_Mod_13_.jpg

cMiddleton_GAM_233_02_Mod_13_.gif

fv9tsluno7.jpg

pcmrvhi4f9.gif

So that'll about wrap things up for this #showcase-sunday post. Tune in next week for another mega post of related content. I'm thinking it's between

  • Random Sketches
  • Weird 3D Shit
  • Painted Cubes

Have a preference? Let me know in the comments :) See you in the next post!

Sort:  

What an impressive body of work, @midlet! Thank you for sharing! Resteemed!

Thanks @kommienezuspadt! I appreciate it man :)

Amazing stuff, I only discovered you recently with you 3D work. This is some wonderful skill and colour knowledge.

Thanks @ammonite! Yea, I jump around mediums a lot. 3D if the flavor of the month right now :)

Well done @midlet, they almost look like real paintings! I scrolled through your feed and saw some of your other posts, which are pretty awesome as well😁

Thanks @lackofcolor, you're off to a great start on your blog as well, keep it up! :)

Incredible stuff, @midlet! To see your collection of portraits as a body of work is just astounding!!! <3

Shared this amazing post at Twitter, also :D For OCD external curations :)

Thanks @veryspider! Yea, I need to develop my off Steem social media presence more, so I can get followers and convert them to Steemians! >:)

These are all amazing! You've got some skills, my friend. My favorite is the first. It doesn't hurt that the subject is quite pretty! I remember enjoying these paintings the first time around.

Thanks man, yea that ones my favorite too.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This is such amazing work. I love how the gifs really bring all of the pieces to life and show the process. You have got a ton of talent. Thank you for sharing it with us. That older man with the beanie hat and the beard is probably my favorite. I love his eyes.

I don't know much about art, but as a layman I like it. Hmm, who doesn't?

I also like the way you present your work process here, as animated gifs.

Dope!! Some of my favorites and some I've never seen!! I need to do a #showcase-Sunday post! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent portraits, and I mean this. But it is standard practice to credit the photographic !sources , you know, photographers are artists too.

Wow. Just wow.
Resteemed

Posted using Partiko Android

I voted the 200th vote for you👍

Posted using Partiko Android