Let the Constitutional Silver Flow into my Stack!

in #silver6 years ago (edited)

I've recently acquired a taste for Constitutional or otherwise known as junk silver as noted in my last SSG post and I quickly added some more to my collection after the receipt of my last order from the Silver Doctors.

Soon after I ordered those Liberty Half Dollars I noticed the junk silver section of SD Bullion had Mercury dimes at a pretty decent price (I think I paid about $63 for $5 face value) so I picked up a small bag. I enjoyed spilling them out of the bag across the table and lining them up for a picture.

mercury dimes.JPG

Each dollar face value of junk / Constitutional silver contains 0.715 troy ounces of pure silver so that's a pretty low premium over spot, so I got to thinking it'd be cool to have some liberty quarters too. Then I got to looking at the prices and holy cow the premium on those is high!

selection.JPG

The Liberty quarters were going for about $16-18 for $1 face value and I couldn't find anything smaller than a $10 face value roll for sale except the $1 lot I found for 18.99 but screw that....so I moved on and placed an order for some of the pre-1964 Washington quarters instead for about what I paid per $ face value for the dimes and halves.

Premiums are going up on certain coins for sure! I normally would have just paid the premium for that roll of Liberty quarters but I'm about at my spending limit for the month and all so I had to restrain myself and go the less expensive route. I'll be sure to share the quarters I ordered when they arrive.

One more cool thing I found out about the Mercury Dime is that the US mint made a gold centennial edition in 2016 that contains 1/10th oz of 0.9999 gold...those are fetching around $300 now after the mint sold them at $205 apiece initially and minted 125,000 of them only 2 years ago. Talk about ROI!

apmex gold merc.JPG

image source
I just might have to add one of these to my collection when June bonuses come around at my work. For now I'm DEFINITELY (this is the last one I promise! says the junkie) tapped out on spending money for bullion after my latest order which I'm eagerly awaiting.

I'm really getting into old coins again as opposed to the usual 1 OZ generic rounds, 5 and 10 oz bars I usually order, and the occasional kilo bar. I used to collect old coins as a kid and I wish I'd known the pre 1965 quarters were 90% when I was growing up in the 1980's because I remember seeing 1960-1964 quarters and also dimes pretty commonly.

Try finding one of those in circulation now.

Some people who work retail and look really hard all day at work get lucky and come across one here and there in the cash register... But I haven't gotten one with my change in years and years even though I look at dates on my nickels (1942-1945 war nickels=35% silver), quarters and dimes every time I receive change.

Luckily I've got 40 of them on the way but they cost me way more now than the 25 cents that I got them for back when I was a kid in the 80's and unknowingly spent them away as I would cash (I didn't realize they were valuable--I was born in '79 so I was just a little stacker back then and didn't know any better).

I look forward to sharing my next acquisition that I ordered through APMEX sometime soon. I hadn't ordered from them in a bit and when I went to check out I noticed they're now accepting BTC and BCash as payment as well as echeck....so no more writing a check and mailing it! I paid in fiat this time but next time cryptos rally you can bet I'll be stacking the bullion as high as I can using some crypto profits!

Til next time...Have a good week all you stackers and everyone else of course :)

Sort:  

I am a great fan of junk silver. It is money that will never be issued again and every day their numbers diminish due to melting. It is cheap silver and it tends to increase in value.

Yes it does! When I was collecting as a kid it was easy to come across pre 1965 silver in circulation...hard to do now unless you're a cashier and you look for it all day long. Junk silver is my new priority in silver stacking. I want LOTS of it!

I likr the old coins. It's an amazing subject and images thank you ffor sharing .

I have been on a junk silver kick as well. I enjoy the fact that yoI can hold them and not worry about it. Great buys.

@cryptokeepr I am glad you reminded me about the Gold Mercury. I really like the fact that the US Mint made those for the 100 Year anniversary of the Silver Mercury Dime.............

Man I can't wait to get that June bonus at work. I'm gonna get me one of those gold Merc's!

You guys are really lucky to have constitutional silver still lurking around. I love the old US coin designs and I totally get how sometimes buying these over the boring 1,2 & 5oz coins would be better. Happy hunting

@welshstacker do you own any US constitutional silver? Maybe I'll do some kind of giveaway / contest later on when I have more constitutional coinage and I have a good bit of each value of silver coin.

Thanks for the comment that led to this idea...I might just decide to send you one of each type of coin (war nickel, mercury dime, pre 65 washington quarter and liberty half) since you like those coins so much. I'm gonna set a reminder in my phone to follow up here in a few weeks when I receive more and I have each type of coin!

I have a 1/4 (which I won) from @randomness. The US constitutional silver has always been a favourite of mine. I'm hoping by the end of the year to buy my first Morgan dollar. Not only do most of the "junk" coins have great designs but obviously the silver content is a bonus 😂

Yes I agree about the designs...the US mint made some pretty cool stuff over the decades past. What we have now is kind of bland and it's been the same forever it seems like (except the 50 states series quarters which are kinda cool, I'm gonna start getting 90% versions of those here soon).

I'll send you a few coins once I receive a couple more shipments and I have a better variety. That one quarter could use some company lol.

You really don't have to but that would be great of you. I'd appreciate it so much. Drop me a message when ever you feel you've stacked enough. Thank you

Will do my friend. i know I don't have to but it seems like you'd like to have some more constitutional coinage from the US mint. I'll be happy to send you one of each. It's just a way of giving back to the community. I expect nothing in return. I'll definitely message you.

constitutional sounds much better then junk

Yes I agree :) "constitutional" silver it is then!

I hate calling it junk silver, but I do like it. Usually they carry small premiums. Being the cheap bastard I am, I like it!

Yeah I'm kinda torn on what to call it myself lol. I'm also a cheap bastard myself when it comes to hunting for precious metals. I love finding low prices over spot.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold