My ugly finger...

in #silver6 years ago (edited)

I guess I'm not the best finger model in the world but I can make some pretty nice jewelry. This beautiful ring is handcrafted with sterling silver. The gemstone is a type of Orbicular Jasper from California called Poppy Jasper. A gemstone cut in this fashion is reffered to as a cabochon. That particular gem has a history all in itself. To keep it brief I'll just say that it's one I cut it myself and it has sentimental value. This beauty is an amazing Montana Agate. It was made completly from scratch. I cut the gemstone from a rough rock. The band for the ring I hand forged from a fine silver coin. Even the sterling silver wire is twisted by hand. It's a labour of love to say the least. This gemstone has a fun history. It's a man made stone called Goldstone. Some semi modern Alchemists where trying to make gold. They never suceeded in making gold but they made a new semi precious gemstone. The first batch was a golden color, hence the name. Now it's available in various colors. This midnight blue is my my favorite. It's like gazing into the cosmos on a moonless night. If you didn't catch my last blog about finding a gold ring check that out real quick. introduceyourself/@dirtyhippie/do-you-love-free-gold Poor gold ring was so scratched and bent from being burried in the ground for years. After working on it yesterday it's a completely different ring. The hammered texture and fine polish make it look exquisite. Hope you enjoy! Please upvote, follow and resteem if you did.

Sort:  

Wow..your a talented jeweler. I make jewelry too but working with a blow torch and chemical etc scares me. I love learning about gem stones/semi precious stones. I make jewelry out of Kahelelani shells. They are considered gems even though they are shells.

Working with a torch certainly takes some getting used to. Thanks for the compliment on my jewelry. Lot's more to come.

Man those are amazing, nice work.

Thank you for the compliment and upvote. I appreciate your support.

Awesome shit man sorry the pun, but it's hippie talk.

Thanks brother. Got lots more interesting shit to share lol...

very very nice work and your stones it's amazing.you're cutting them, (as far as I remember) Bravo!

Thanks so much. Yes I cut most of the gemstones I use for jewelry.


Wow!😊😊
I really like the artwork that brings positive ideas closer to people
Must be supported...
Thank you for your wonderful work

Thanks for your support. I appreciate the positive feedback.

Nice rings! Keep it going! @lovenlife