Sort:  

I've been watching a lot of DIY videos on how to build my own equipment. My buddy is a machinist, so he knows how to make the pieces I need. Also has a few belt sanders, but we need to make it safe.

One of my friends kept sanding his rocks dry, but I convinced him to stop until we can get some water involved. It'll be quite the project this summer that I plan on sharing here! Speaking of which -- would you share pictures of your tools? I'd love to see what all you use.

Ya working on stones dry is really bad idea. Serpentine and abalone shells have asbestos in them. I'll steal some screenshots of the machines I use off their websites. Be easier than dragging my saw out of my trailer lol.

Here's my unit set up in the sink of an old fifth wheel. I don't really care about the plumbing, so I just let the sludge of rock bits and water drain down the sink. Lol messy buisness for sure.

Thanks for all the info! Much appreciated! It's the results that counts, the set-up looks great!

I can't do any heavy production work on it, but it works for me. The main problem with this type is how long it takes to dry and change the wheels out. It takes like 10-20 minutes before you can move on to the next grit. Pretty time consuming so I don't usually sell the cabs by themselves... Nice to be able to make whatever I need for jewelry and sell some of my extras.