Lanna Kingdom Silver Pak Chee (Flower) ingot coin Thailand Chang Mai

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

Weight not fixed
Silver
Purity ?
Estimated Bullion value = ?

During my trip to Myanmar, I was fortunate enough to make a visit to local antique store. There in the shop, I was asking the shop owner to show me the silver coins that he has in his shop. Most of the coins he showed me are the Indian rupees and the 1 Kyat silver Myanmar coin. Sensing that I wasn't really interested in those coin, he told me to wait for a while as he goes to the back of his shop and brought out these very scarce type of primitive ingot money used in the Kingdom of Lanna 13th-16th centry AD modern day Chang Mai. At first I didn't recognize it because it was really scarce and hardly appear in the shops but I took a gamble and brought 4 of it from the owner, wished I had brought more but too bad I didn't bring enough cash because these are really expensive.

The special feature of these coins are the style of water droplet, spiral and flowers formed during casting of the coin. Each coin pattern is unique and the value is based solely on the weight of silver it contains. I brought a total of 4 coins and 1 of them I am having it made it a silver necklace for my wife's birthday. (^_^)v

Please upvote and re-steem my post if you find it interesting and also help share the knowledge around.

Sort:  

Wow these coin have an unique appearance. Even a silver enthusiast like me have never seen these before I read this post, great post! Are them oxidized because of the old age?

Yup some of the coins are cleaned by the owner but I didn't pick them. I like these coin old and dirty. It is at least 400 years old. The only cleaned coin is 1 that I am having it made into a necklace for my wife. Will share it once it is done.

Amazing! Though seemingly crude in their make, for a non-collector like me, they are like pieces of abstract art with their own allure! I'm not a fan of silver coins but these are definitely unique!

What is the name of the place you bought these coins?