My Collection of 1000 Constitutional Quarters (90% "Junk" Silver)

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

Happy 4th of July Steemians!

IMG_2044.JPG

Today is America's birthday, and my is she getting old. So, on this day I thought I would show you something America used to stand for: a strong currency, backed by precious metals.

U.S. coins used to have silver in them! Imagine that! Dollars, Half-Dollars, quarters and dimes all had 90% silver until 1965. Now, the U.S. ended 90% silver and went "clad" in 1965 save for Kennedy Half Dollars which went 40% silver from 1965-1970, I believe 1964 was the only year that Kennedy Half Dollars had 90% silver.

Now the only thing the U.S. dollar is backed by is the belief that it's worth something! Nice little trick they did there, you see?

Anyway, I have a nice little collection of pre-1965 quarters I'd like to share with you today.

I Keep Them Here (bag of what used to be rice)

IMG_2040.JPG

There they are, all 1000 of them. They are really fun to roll in and move my hands through. They make a neat clinky noise, nothing like what our shit quarters sound like today.

IMG_2041.JPG

I even took the time to do this!

IMG_2042.JPG

You could also make Steemit logos

IMG_2044.JPG

You could also follow this guy

IMG_2045.JPG

Here's a video I made on my YouTube channel showing these bad boys off along with my whole stack. Skip to 2:23 in the video to hear some real clinkage!

It took me quite a lot of trips to the ol' LCS to arrive at the number 1,000. Lots of days of hard work paid for these. This represents real wealth to me. Not the paper you pay for your donuts with. This is true wealth my friends.

As @raybrockman would say, "Stack on, my friends." Also have a great 4th everyone, please don't blow your arms off with fireworks like some jackasses in years past.

@vegansilverstack

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

Nice collection! Ship some if you have some spare ;)
Also the cooper cents are a nice thing to have :D

But some dry rice inside the bag to keep the humidity out. Else they will have this dark indigo colour :)

Hehe! I might just try that. :) They are put away in a nice, dry spot though :)

Those are some amazing photos. As a kid, I used to collect quarters, the regular kind that go "klunk" instead of "tink". If I were lived the 60's and was collecting quarters, I'd have a nice investment today. Steem On! @ironshield

Yes you would!

Love it buddy and love the coinage.
Keep on stacking dude.
@tremendospercy

Awesome Constitutional stack my friend.

This post received a 2.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegansilverstack! For more information, click here!

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Follow, Reblogged Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read