You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When the living leave us

in #silverbloggerslast year (edited)

I'm sorry for your loss. It is impressing that how fit your grandfather was until the last one month.

I lost my mother this spring. She was one of the most close family members together with my grandma. They left and I notice some kind of "vacancies" as you wrote. On the other hand I feel them quite often when I bake bread (I use my mother's baking tins), when I wear my watch (it's passed down by my grandfather to my mother and to me), when I sew clothes (I learnt it from my grandma) etc etc.

I appreciate these connections and memories they left to me. They enrich my life.

I wish you take time to digest your feeling. Life is beautiful :)

Sort:  

Thank you. That’s a very thoughtful comment.

I’ve been remembering a lot of things and feeling very blessed to have spent so much time with him when I was younger.

I’ve tried sharing those memories with my older children, but I feel like, with huge technological changes life has brought us over the past twenty years, and the cultural and language barriers my children and I face, they can’t begin to imagine what I’m talking about.

I wonder if you ever feel that way raising a child in a different part of the world from the one you grew up in.